Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Link

by simonnaus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: If the game doesn't start you'll need to run the XNA installer (xnafx40_redist.msi) I included in the package first.

The Link is a game about helping a tree grow. It was greatly inspired by one of my favorite bands.

Controls:
- LMB : select branches, grow leaves
- Esc : close the game
- R : restart the game
- M : mute/unmute sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Mood4.28
#10Graphics4.54
#66Audio3.72
#85Overall3.81
#91Innovation3.92
#260Fun3.42
#274Theme3.64
#354Humor2.67
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19am

Blind crash if you run it without XNA-FX, but you did include it at least...
Simple, beautiful graphics and sound. A+.
Gameplay is more meditative and less challenge-oriented. Suits the aesthetic well.

Wolve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

WOOOOOOT, SICK PARTICLES AND APPLES
amazing

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Very relaxing, slow, beautiful graphics, nice music. Thought it was extremely creative.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Interesting and poetic :) . However, the window should be smaller, I could'nt see the top and the bottom of it since it was out of my screen...

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I'll buy this game. Just perfect.

Lolwned says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Pretty game and nice idea.
Also I like this band to !

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

More a relaxing thing and not a game but well made..
The music could be better with a more long loop because it's a bit repetitive but it fit well.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

amazing aesthetic, really cool game with a lot of features!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Art style is superb, Really very good.

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I really light the idea, and that 'choose wisely' impact for growing leafs. Graphics are great. Really aesthetic.

I think I'll return to your game when stressed. Thanks!

Dknighter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Says the file has malware.

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Really slow, fun and cool game to play! Also great music. Good job man :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Dem worms. Took a while to understand but can't make a full tutorial for a jam game haha. Really nice graphics and more difficult that it looks.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57am

You know it but still, i say it : it's very beautiful. Art is stunning. I'd love to see it with more possibilities and a little more impact on my choices. Your my first 5 stars on graphics. Bravo.

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:06am

Great game, absolutely beautiful

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Great looks and sound.

I would like to see how much energy I have left.

stasss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Just brilliant! Very impressive FX, so relaxing, (worm is the best). Keep going on and share your result!

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Beautiful and soothing. Good job it's a great entry :)

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Love the minimalism, stunning visuals and overall solidness.
My favorite tree game ever!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:28am

chrome say it's a malware, you should zip twice perhaps

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very pretty and relaxing

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]