Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fight those Pirates

by Dohan - Jam Entry

You are a spaceship captain and your mission is to fight the pirates that are occupying a trade route that connect two worlds.

Right now, my highest score is 42750. Can you do better?

CONTROLS:
---------
Arrow keys: Fly the ship!
Space: Shoot lasers!

--------
3D assets created with Blender3D.
2D assets created with Gimp.
Game developed with Unity3D.
Sound FXs generated with sfxr.
Untitled music loop generated with Otomata and edited with Audacity.
Ride of the Valkyries by Richard Wagner.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#261Humor(Jam)2.70
#381Audio(Jam)3.06
#410Graphics(Jam)3.32
#473Mood(Jam)2.93
#481Overall(Jam)3.07
#640Theme(Jam)2.38
#763Innovation(Jam)1.75

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Ah, a good ol' fashioned space shooter. Though I seem to recognise that space ship from somewhere :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Cool! I like the fact that you also connected the worlds where the ships were inspired from :D

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10am

Looks great, sounds great, but damn is it fast! Very hard to play just because of the speed.

And I have a pretty big laptop but it was slightly taller than my browser window. This didn't really impede me much though.

And the theme felt a bit tacked on.

But the looks and audio and feel is really going to stick with me though :) Excellent!

Dohan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19pm

@GeeItSomeLaldy & @Crocanti de Pollo: Eachhe ship comes from a different movie/TV show :)

@Will Edwards: Thanks for the kind words :) I've reduced a bit the resolution, I hope it fits in most resolutions now.

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Not a new idea, but nicely done and fun. Good job browncoat! Would have been nice to have some power ups.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Is the merchant a descendant of John Hammond ?
If so, the Hammonds stopped sparing no expense.

I like the different attacks, and regaining life between is a nice touch, it allows to live the whole adventure.
The score is there for playing the perfect game thereafter.

Like GeeItSomeLaldy and Crocanti de Pollo, spaceships look familiar but I can't find which one.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:45pm

nice solid space shooter, little too easy :D had fun

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Oh no! Tie Bombers! Oh no! Birds of Prey! Oh, and Mal wants his ship back. It's a 'best of' science fiction spaceships. Nice little space shooter, cool graphics.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Good music and good design of ship, although not very original

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Loving the Firefly theme!

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really nice traditional shooter which plays extremely well.

Dohan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06pm

@miwuc: Yeah, I wanted to add some power-ups, as they are the spice on a shmup, but I got lazy as I was running out of time...

@mrbungle: You got 3 of the 5 ships! Wow! :D

Thank you all for your comments ^_^

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Childhood restored! :D Nice game!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

20250 points, I suck at shootemups XD Good game, I liked it, also I always enjoy hearing "Ride of the Valkyries" in a game ^_^

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Great graphics and effects! Also, cool that you were able to include a boss battle.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

That's an inspired choice of music, and I rather like the particle effect trails that the ships leave. Good job - ver enjoyable.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

34700 points... nice entry

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:03am

Good shooter, the enemy lasers just travel WAY too fast. It would be more enjoyable if they were at least somehow avoidable. I really like your music choice :D

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

Nice little game although I suck at shmups!! And the ship doesn't get stuck at walls and obstacles ;)))

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Very fun! Cool graphics, and nice music too

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41am

Does more for the shoot-em-up genre than it does for the theme of the jam.
The music doesn't loop...so I was fighting the boss in total silence.
I do like the "galaga" treatment and the references to Firefly (the main guy looks too much like Mal Reynolds and the ship looks like Serenity).

Shide says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:06am

It was fun to move other ship with you ship since they are all collidable, but then it's easy AND hard at the same time. You have a lot of health and really hard ro kill, but the speed makes dodges almost impossible

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Hi there. Kept getting wiped by the end of stage 1... nice graphics. Not heard Midi-Wagner before... Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:47am

Buen trabajo! The bearded guy looks like the investor in Jurassic Park :) And some of the ships from Star Wars :D Great inspiration and good level progression. Nice audio and graphics too! Well done!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11am

Haha, love the ships you chose! Fun little ship shooter, very classic :)

ceosol says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Other than you saying in a story cutscene that worlds are connected, this did not focus much on the theme. However, it was a very well made entry. I think the execution was smooth and so was the gameplay. I would definitely play more.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice game ! The music made ma laugh :D When I saw the ship in stage two, I thought... Vader is that you ? Then saw others... disappointed... (joking huh ^^)

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:03pm

@Lvyn: Darth Vader's TIE has only one cockpits, those are TIE Bombers ;)

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Just completed it. Nice work on this entry! A few comments : 1.Music is copyrighted I think? 2.Controls feel a bit odd due to the slow acceleration thing. In order to move faster, you have to keep holding keys and that's not convenient to shoot and avoid. 3.I'm not sure about how this is theme related?

Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Good graphics and sound, but I think you definitely need to adjust the difficulty. (I'm not a game-design expert but I'm trying to help here with what I know):

Enemies are too fast and don't give you much of a chance to kill them. In most shoot 'em ups you'll notice that the enemies react and move slower than the player and they tend to "walk/fly" a lot in front of you so you have a fair chance of taking them down.

In this kind of game enemies don't move in random patterns either. They move and attack in patterns the player can "learn and counter" (and sometimes "predict").

Having a single life and "restarting" from the very first level is a bit too punishing. Not many games can get away with something like this without being called unfair.

I'm not saying your game has to be easy or that you have to adhere to the "industry standards" but those "best practices" are there for a reason. It's not because one dude made the first shooter like that and the other games just cloned the mechanics and design decisions. You can "bend" the rules to make your game "harder" but there's a limit to how much you can "bend" them before the game breaks and becomes downright unfair and frustrating, so be careful with that.

I quite enjoyed the humor in your game and the references to different cult movies and series. I also liked the graphics and the "retro-yet-modern" feel. The parallax field of changing-color stars gives it a REALLY nice touch. For a jam game there's an impressive amount of good work here, from the graphics to the particles and sound effects and dialogue. Good Job.

Dohan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:54am

Thanks a lot for your feedback!

@SoulGame: Wagner's music is now Public Domain, and I found the web from I downloaded it looking for sites with CC licensed music, although the license message was a bit strange, something in the line of "if you upload something here, you accept everyone could use it" but nothing about downloading. The other music was generated by me using Otomata. The control can use an overhaul, yes, I was just experimenting. For the theme, you are a bounty hunter and the commercial route that connect two worlds has been occupied by pirates, so your mission is to reconnect those worlds (yeah, theme is only obviously present in the story, not so much in the gameplay).

@ConflictiveLabs: Thanks for your advices! I doubt I'll continue this game, but if I make another shmup again I'll try to follow them :) About the difficulty, I wanted to have power-ups, lifes and a balanced gameplay, but I started coding whith only 11 hours left for the deadline and there was no much time for testing the enemies behaviour, less for adding more features.

kristof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice bullet hell! Feels complete and polished. A bit too easy for my taste though.

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Firefly detected! Nice try!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nice game ! Too bad there isn't any power up. It's frustrating to fight ships bigger and bigger while you still have a little laser :p

rjhelms says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice classic vertical scroller. My only real critique is that the boss fight could have used a bit more variety in the patterns - once I got down to dodging both of them, it was a little repetitive.

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:51am

Nice game! It was very fun and I really enjoyed it. It would be really awesome if it had power-ups :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]