Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sky Crystal Adventure

by George - Jam Entry

Initially this was just a solo submission, but I had help with all the modelling so am submitting as a Jam entry instead!

The game is about stopping floating islands from falling from the sky by returning parts of a crystal. You can control the weather to help you solve the puzzles.

Would like to have made this longer and include more story, but real life got in the way :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Mood(Jam)3.77
#96Graphics(Jam)4.17
#126Overall(Jam)3.63
#148Theme(Jam)3.66
#159Audio(Jam)3.53
#249Fun(Jam)3.27
#325Innovation(Jam)3.14
#413Humor(Jam)2.35
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Very nice game! It was really fun to solve the puzzles :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I really like this low-poly graphics! Good job on this one!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

The ground at the beach looks really cool, did you just use a built-in shader or make your own? Either way it was awesome. I was afraid the jumping-part would be difficult in first-person, but the controls were smooth enough to work out.

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03pm

the game is reaaalllyy neaatt! awesome visuals!
i have to apologize since i didn't last long in the game because i got dizzy lol. probably because of the sensitivity.
great puzzles btw! and i also like the part where it shows "a fish" or "a jellyfish" haha.
great job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18pm

good game, but I could not understand what to do, just found one thing on the chest.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Hi there. Really fun little game, got to the end after running into rubber ring for ages first... Like the hot/cold mechanic. Great looking. Nice sounds. Good job!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:56am

Pretty good game. Love the art style it is awesome. It was simple but well made. Also I like the fact that these world transition allow me to enjoy more art. Good job guys!

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I love the graphical style, and it was remarkably well put together for such a small timeframe. Nice job!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Really liked the simple, clean graphics. A short, somewhat atmospheric little point and click game. I like the idea of flipping the climate over using a giant switch surrounded by big signs. :P

dancingmad says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice graphics and nice game!

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice visual style. The music really added something too.

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very nice graphics and very nice game :)

kyru says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I like this, the aesthetic was nice and using the simple temperature mechanic to solve the puzzle was good. Would be interesting to see it expanded.

Cash says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I love this art style and the game concept was simple but amazing. It's a shame it wasn't too long because I would have probably loved it even more

Benjamin says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I really love the graphics of your game. it really remind me my first step on 3D exploration games. the game was sort but really fun to play.

barryrowe says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:24pm

This was fun. It's very straight forward so the puzzles weren't a huge challenge, but the environment was interesting enough I didn't mind just wandering around looking for easter eggs. Great world.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Fun little puzzle game - really liked the story's take on 'connected worlds' and the hot/cold mechanic.

I ran off the edge a few times after using the portal and the game started off on oasis cold, which made it kinda easy - nevertheless it was fun to play, great job!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:18am

Nice game :) Such calm music and such cute low-poly graphics :) Puzzles are nice too! The only bug I found - after you take first crystal, it doesn't disappear from hot version of the island.
Great job!

tbam says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Game looked great. play felt a little tedious, but it was intuitive.

sikosis says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

Nice graphics, even if I couldn't work out what to do :)

Fanttum says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:08am

Cool idea. Didn't figure out what to do at first but then I got it. Wish there was more to it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]