Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected To Hell

by mutuware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cursor keys to move.
Space to shoot.

Web/HTML5 made in Construct 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#160Humor3.13
#163Audio3.44
#616Mood2.91
#870Fun2.68
#925Theme2.64
#975Graphics2.41
#995Overall2.73
#1144Innovation2.08

Comments

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

You know the unexpected thing about this game? The music. The way it layers as you progress was a pretty neat touch.

Also that poster style is pretty awesome.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

Winner! :) Didn't expect devil dogs ;)
Loved the smoothness of the animation and controls.

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05am

strange but in a good way. the sound really helps set the mood alot.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10am

The way the music layers as you progress is great, it creates a bit of tension and suspense.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

That stacking music trick was interesting indeed. However, the poster lured me here and I was expecting the same graphics style. And I was pretty disappointed with it =(

hectormorlet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

This is a neat game. One thing I noticed about this is that its animations are very eye catching, although the art needs some work. I really like how the music becomes more intense as you go down, so that when you die and go back to the top it impacts the feel of the game.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42am

Yeah, the poster is probably a bit misleading!
Kinda ran out of time with the graphics in the game.
Used Spriter for the 1st time for animations, still a few bugs.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Those devilish dogs keep killing me, haha. Really liked the music. Gameplay is pretty smooth.

Tarian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

As others have said the layered music is great. Love the cut out animation style and the bullet impact effects, very satisfying. Those damn dogs though...

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:55pm

That was really fun XD. I liked the titles of the levels and I liked how the bullets spray and create dust when hitting walls.

I didn't expect the dogs at all. They were really hard to beat.

The music was really cool and the rhythm increasing as you descend further was a cool feature. I liked the upgrades and I was glad that I could "skip levels" by just jumping into the holes for when I died.

All in all, very good game and well done (the gun looked cool too) XD

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I Like the poster and the psychedelic feel.
Very Divine Comedy!

Good!

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Those devil dogs are creepy.

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16pm

needs more screen shake. lol

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

Damn hell dogs...

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

Very unsettling. Well crafted. Excellent audio. Also very funny.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

That was hilarious. By the end I had what appeared to be a dog orgy on my screen. It was a bit overly simple, and the graphics were in the "so bad it's good" group. Quite enjoyable nonetheless.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24am

Overall, an enjoyable experience. Thoughts I had while playing.

I wish there were some more polished graphics to go with the nicely tweened animation.
The theme was a bit shoe-horned in.
The enemies definitely need some better AI.
I couldn't figure out how to get the collectables on stage 6.
Even though it was probably unintentional, I liked how the dog head would pop out on Level 8. It was a cool little surprose.
Some of the dogs didn't disappear on the last level after being killed on level 9.
I liked the message in the sign of each level.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

I got stuck on the bottom-left corner of the very first level, and had to seriously re-evaluate my dream of becoming a professional gamer. Also, those dogs at the end were complete assholes (spoiler alert!) The music layering thing was awesome :)

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

trippy game, the dogs were a shock. are they possible to beat? lol they kept kicking my ass

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I was interested by the "9 circles of Hell" reference, even though I don't understand exactly how it is linked to the theme.

Was it through the layering of the music ?
Unlike others, even though I reckon the idea of layering the music according to the level/circle pretty cool, I did not enjoy this one like I had did in last year's jam winner Scubbabear for example.
I did not like specifically the music for this game as on a lot of levels it is very detuned in a physically hurting way ("false notes" do that to me yes). I understand/guess that it is to "put in a hellish mood" or something like that, but it just doesn't cut it for me.

The graphics could have been a bit more worked indeed.

It pains me, I feel like I did not understand that game and there's something I'm missing, but I can't seem to find what.

Nevertheless good job on making a game during the jam, especially while testing out a new feature (Spriter) that is ballsy !

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Hi there. Like the art style. Didn't do so well at the game.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:54pm

HELL YEAH! I'm a winner! Kudos for the effort, audio was great and it was fun to play. Great job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:46am

Simple game. loved the off beat sound design, stylized cover image, and the fecking dogs.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]