Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monster+Connect!

by saguaro - Jam Entry

A collision between the monster and human dimensions impacts everyone involved. When Jane's heart begins to fade, she learns she must find her human soulmate to mend it before her heart stops completely. The concept is a dual-window dating sim/adventure game in an 80's style where the player controls both characters.

Script and graphics by me, music by Li'l Magic. Made with Ren'Py and sheer force of will. A short game, but hopefully long enough to demonstrate the concept (and see a few fun monsters).

Update: Compo version no longer available, links go to post-compo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#24Theme(Jam)4.07
#43Humor(Jam)3.79
#63Innovation(Jam)3.79
#97Overall(Jam)3.70
#137Mood(Jam)3.61
#168Fun(Jam)3.43
#196Audio(Jam)3.45
#275Graphics(Jam)3.62

Comments

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

I believe your links are not working properly.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

Yeah, links broken. Looks like a cool game - would be keen to play it!

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Apologies everyone, I pasted the wrong link. The correct ones are up now.

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

I'm a sucker for visual novels, I really enjoyed this, although there seem to be a few bugs, the story is pretty nice and the game actually got me to chuckle. Love the effort put into this.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

Links work now;
I liked it. Only weirdness is after you've 'lost' you keep anything you've done in the previous playthough.

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

Interesting use of the theme, I think the plot could have been a bit more subtle, would have been more interesting go follow the story further between the collided dimensions. Also liked the art style.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

This was a cool little game, thanks for sharing! A couple little oddities, but not bad overall!

disease says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

Awesome art. Everything reminded me of Wonderboy in Monsterland, which is always a good thing!

pixelspirit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

That was really cute, especially when they meet. what a nice couple! And the meeting w/ the bouncer made me laugh. Good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24am

Damn good.
I failed twice darnit. Ended up succeding.
The way you connected worlds is great, graphics fit very well, the mood was set by your use of the health.
I liked it alot.
- Bradley

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

Awesome concept and execution. The aesthetic is awesome. I loved bouncing back between the two desperately trying to get them together

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05am

I'm partial to visual novels/dating games, but no, really, I actually LOVE this game. My kind of humor, too. Splendid! Wish the health didn't go down so fast, though; I'm not that good at this if you can't tell! :-)

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

I like the idea of controlling two characters at once. The story is kinda weak, I think you must continue developing this but pay big attention to gameplay (it needs to be more fun) and making the story more elaborated. I did like the idea of monster and human world colliding but it needs just a better argument. Good work!

KuGrou says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26am

Cool setup and good writing. It would be nice to be able to explore more of the opposite dimension with each character.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Oh man this is some serious Ren'Py mastery - I definitely respect the behind-the-scenes working you'd have to do to make this work.

I am all for queer relationships and I'm all for monster people, so those are definitely boxes checked.

Also:
YOOOOO when the drum beat kicked in I've not had that kind of feeling since Porpentine's 'All I Want Is For All Of My Friends To Become Insanely Powerful'. Great job~

sorle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

wow thats amazing.
i love the mood and your kind of humor. Lukas Arts style :D
greate and unexpected way to use the theme. Thats why i love LD.
i really enjoyed your game!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06am

This was cool, I enjoyed it! I wasn't a huge fan of the time limit at first, but I understand that it goes along with the story. I liked being able to control each person and meet them up, this could definitely be expanded on to make something a bit more complex if you kept working on this. Overall, great job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very good. I like how you have a time limit. It adds desperation to the game.

Morusque says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Beautiful game.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Not shown: the vast majority of the human and monster populations that died long before finding their soulmates, at least if the difficulty of this game was any indication. The story and graphics were good, but it was disconcerting having to restart three times because I didn't do everything just right. I understand the desperation aspect, but I think the time limit was too strict.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:24am

Great idea, pulled off really well. Obviously I liked the way you used the theme.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Interesting premise, too bad it's so short, I wanted more !
I guess I'm gonna forget my sorrow playing the new demo for The Censor then XD (I was waiting for it).

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:33am

This was really sweet. Took a few tries to get to the end, but it felt really rewarding. Almost like a mini "Gone Home" with aliens :) Great job!

SupSuper says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:21am

Really cool concept, would love to see it expanded.

dook says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Hehe that was really cute. The idea with two screens and characters trying to find each other worked well. It could definitely work as a longer game :)

DrCicero says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:07pm

It feels strange that the human doesn't really have to anything, in fact going to the fortune teller made her loose too much heart for the final move.
Then, on my second attempt i rushed with the monster through the gate and only moved once with the human.

But i like two (simultaneous) players on a visual novel, cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]