Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Videogame Hero

by shatterhand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

READ THE INSTRUCTIONS or you may not understand the game.

(About the Pos-Compo version: I just fixed a minor bug that made the player not lose energy in the JUMP/PLATFORM world when falling down, and changed*ONE* single number in the code to make that world more playable, so the controls are now a bit less "slippery". Play whatever version you want, it doesn't make a big difference, but I still thought I should clear this out

the HTML5 version is based on the Pos-Compo version, and may be slower than the Windows version, and may or may not have bugs in the platform world. If possible, play the Windows version)
)

---

The VIDEOGAME WORLDS are dying! Only you can save the VIDEOGAME WORLDS! Travel between the VIDEOGAME WORLDS and grab the power-ups that will raise the energy of other worlds!

START OF INSTRUCTIONS:
CONTROLS:
ARROWS: Movement
CONTROL / Z / SPACE : Action
ENTER: Travel back to Hub


The game is divided in 5 worlds representing 5 different videogame genres, all connected by one single VIDEOGAME HUB. Move to world icon you want to travel and press ACTION.

All worlds are dying, and if one is dead, the game is over. Look at the top HUD to see the energy of each world.

On each world you can get energy for other 2 worlds (Just below the energy bar of each world there are 2 icons, indicating what worlds' energy can be recharged on that world). You need to grab the icons to recharge energy.

PROTIP: In the breakout world, you can hold UP, DOWN or ACTION to change the speed of the bat.

I think each world is very straightforward if you have played any videogame in your life :)

When in any of the worlds, press ENTER to get back to the VIDEOGAME hub.


END OF INSTRUCTIONS

CREDITS:

Programming, Graphics, Sounds, Design and everything else: Rafael Lima
Made with: Game Maker Studio
Graphics made with Game Maker Studio, Paint and Gimp.
Sound Effects made with BFXR and Audacity
Music made with EJAY 7

I wish I could had added the instructions into the game, but I finished the game 1 minute before the deadline. There was no more time, sorry 'bout that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#71Theme3.96
#107Fun3.69
#183Innovation3.69
#194Mood3.46
#226Overall3.56
#236Humor2.92
#256Audio3.25
#771Graphics2.77

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

Loved it.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

Loved the concept. It was a lot of fun bouncing between all the worlds. The inclusion of DDR made me smile. Solid game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

I really enjoyed this game. I'm totally going to play it again.

The platformer aspect was really difficult and could go for some fine-tuning.

The breakout aspect sent me straight to a gameover screen after I broke a few blocks. I think it was when I collected a platformer icon.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Doobie, aren't you sure you just lost all energy in one of the worlds?

The platform section indeed need some fine-tuing, but the time ended :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47am

Loved how you incorporated so may modes, but the controls for the platformer were kinda janky.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

There's too much inertia on it.
I should have slowed down the speed of the character a little bit there. Oh well.

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

Splitting a Ludum Dare entry into 5 different minigames sounds like a recipe for very low quality, but you actually managed to make each game fun and somewhat polished! Each minigame had me engaged rather than just going through the motions which definitely says something. Good job!

ClutchNachos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Great game, and great use of the theme!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Cool concecpt, must have been hard to take care of all the mechanics.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I simply got stuck in the second level in a loop...Also I hate blockbreacker game but that is only personal taste

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

The game is really fun, I cannot belive you made all this in 48 hours.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

The gameplay is a bit too fast. The concept is quite nice, pretty design.

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:29am

Great interpretation of the theme!

There are a lot of gameplay mechanics you implemented here in a short amount of time. So while each one could use refinement, it's a very solid entry. Great job!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

This is a good game that could be great! Some tweaking could bring it all together nicely.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Found Footage...
Found Gaming...
Like Wreck it Ralph...

You can't use orginal asset but it could be a real fun metagame with the original asset of inspiring game.

It could maybe be more interesting to no pass through a hub, but maybe use a zapping effect like a switch.

The story is really nice, the game is basic, but it give something really deep! ;)

And also made 5 game instead of one, even if they are classical, that's impressive.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41am

Nice multi-game. Concept well implemented. And yeah, some kind of tutorial is really missed here :3

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00am

Best game I've played so far: a platformer, a shoot 'em up, a racer, a rhythm game, and ball-and-paddle.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:13pm

That was really fun, felt like I was spinning plates.

aeveis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

my score was 8540. Impressive that you got all the games in!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

My best score is around 21000 , but I am the guy who created the game, hehe :)

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Really fun game. Overall 5/5, I love the idea of scoring life in a minigame for other minigames. The only thing I didn't like was the inconsistency of graphics, and the audio/music. Though to make 5 mini games in 48hours, hats off ;)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nice entry and good idea. Platformer was very difficult.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice idea. Very impressive to finish 5 games in one and all of them playable.

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:57am

I like the sound and animation when warping to another world. It reminds me of the old Atari games. Great implementation of the different game genres.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:28am

OWWW MY EYES!!! haha nice job it was real fun till I hit that eve that made my eyes fall out haha addictive

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Great concept.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

While some people struggle to make one simple game for this jam, you managed to pull off making 5 (6 counting the Game HUB). Nice work! I just wish there was a little more predictability with which power-ups you were getting so you could have more control over keeping yourself alive.

shatterhand says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Whalebot, they are actually very easy to predict. Each world only spams power-ups for 2 other 2 worlds (Check beloew the energy bar of one world to see what powerups it spams).

And they are always spammed at the same order and at the same rate.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very impressive effort, any one of these games would have been a great entry, but getting the whole collection done in that time limit is amazing. Interesting theme use, good thought put into the graphics and gameplay and nice music and appropriate sounds. Top job!

Cosmologicon says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Great concept, pretty well executed for the most part. Just needs overall balancing and progression of difficulty.

zatyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:27am

Each mini-game could use some polish, but together, it's impressive for 48 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]