Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Collect Worlds - staxx6 - Jam Entry

If the protal is in reach of your freinds, they will go in which save them and you can find the next ones in an another level.

Over time the portal around you will shrink and you may let it fall, so you have to restart from last checkpoint. To prevent that you have to collect other shrunken portals. But keep in mind you will see them only outside of your own portal.

Controls:
Arrows -> Moving
Enter -> Respawn
A + Esc -> Exit

Tools:
- Java
- Libgdx

---------

Created by staxx6, kinxz, datajam

View staxx6's journal. | View all entries by staxx6

Ratings

Coolness52%
#292Theme(Jam)3.37
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#392Graphics(Jam)3.37
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#561Mood(Jam)2.76
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#682Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Neat idea but it took a while to work out what I was supposed to be doing.

staxx6 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Thank you, I edited the entry description to make it more clear what to do.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43am

I like the concept and the art style, but it is pretty difficult. It seems already picked up shrunken portals do not respawn after you load from the checkpoint. This makes it neigh on impossible to progress very far.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46am

Nice. The limited viewing range diluted by the 'fake' world was interesting to navigate but I found it too easy to lose my world. Probably would've been better to have smaller worlds show up only within your world instead of outside it.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55am

It's a cool idea and I liked the styling, but it's hard to know exactly what you need to do. It becomes frustrating some times because you died to often

staxx6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

Thanks for playing!

@blurryroots Maybe hard but with the dropped worlds after death it's still possible. Or I just played it already too often. ;)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18am

Great idea, bue the eecure was a litle weak. nice effort.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Awsome Grafics really liked the game.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:34am

Congrats on the game! A good effort for this comp.

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The problem I see is that you have find the way by trial and error. Nevertheless, good idea on the concept of the connected worlds and nice graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]