Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Onomo

by komiga - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So many ways I could've gone with this one.. Alas, there's not enough time.

There's no real goal, but monoliths can be activated. How is a little puzzle for you.

See README for controls and bug fixes.

Here is a postmortem:

http://allopoeia.komiga.com/dev/ludum-dare-30-postmortem-onomo/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.55
Coolness67%
#13Audio4.08
#60Graphics4.18
#279Theme3.63
#666Overall3.10
#784Innovation2.85
#1008Fun2.48

Comments

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Is walking all there is to it?

Loving the mood though!

plash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

@Nsmurf: Yep, it's practically a walking simulator. There's only one thing you can really do in it, and it's nothing fancy. I didn't have enough time to put in any real mechanics.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

Very good mood! Would love to have some interaction on this.

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

Definitely good with mood. It's too bad you ran out of time!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19am

Loved the aesthetics of this game. Really fantastic art/mood.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

Fantastic atmosphere, though the lack of gameplay substance shouldn't be ignored.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

I felt like I had to give you a low overall rating even though basically everything was amazing. Just didn't have enough time to finish it, and I really wish you did.

This still wins out top in awesomeness/content ratio. Great job.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38am

Has a really cool feel to it. Audio reminds me a lot of the old Myst games.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

i loved the background music/sounds and the art style =)

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

Audio in particular was great. I'd be curious to see what this develops into with more development time.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58am

Really amazing mood and art

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25am

Graphics, audio, mood: 5/5.

As for gameplay, well.. you know.

The mood is really perfect though.
I feel like it tells some kind of story, or different possible stories, but without any kind of text or nothing.
It just has a certain feeling of purpose, or .. finality?
It's all very somber.

Just too bad it didn't go any further. I mean, as a kind of interactive experience it already stands on its own, but you cleary had some plans in mind.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Reminiscent of Myst, this game was really well done, and the puzzles took me a bit to figure out and solve. I wish I had put the kind of effort and time into the sound that you did. Thank you for the vote!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32am

The atmosphere is amazing and i really liked the visual aesthetics. I also really enjoyed the sound and music, which felt very fitting to the visuals.
And thank you for your detailed comment on our entry!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice audioscape, and some moody graphics, but ultimately not very interesting.

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I did not have the patience to find anything (except for some square stuff), but I like the music, the walking animation, the idea, etc.

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

The effect of one world moving with the other stationary was very nice. Everything worked together to create a really nice mood, especially the music. I felt the top-character movement felt a little slidy with its walk cycle, though. Shame you couldn't do more - I imagine you could make something really interesting.
- Qualia

Jedi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:39am

Excellent mood! I wouldn't be surprised if this places first in the mood category. The gameplay seems like it only really lends itself to one kind of puzzle though, and unless I'm missing something all the puzzles aren't implemented (I could only activate one) which is a shame.

But hey, I know how it goes for game-jams! ;)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:07pm

A shme there wasn't enough time because the mood is intense but the game feels very incomplete.

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:20am

Loved loved loved the graphics and lighting. Perfect use of the theme. Audio was smooth. Feels more like an interactive demo than a game, but it's still fun to play.

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:17am

Great cohesive aesthetic, but alas, the perils of focusing on aesthetic first :( It has potential, though. Next LD rock out those mechanics first, even if they are super simple.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:18am

I thought this concept has a lot of potential. I would suggest next game jam to focus on mechanics first without worrying about the art. The art style and mood were both very strong, but lacking any gameplay, there's not enough tying things to together.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very good mood, music and graphics !! Maybe the characters move a little bit too slow. it's too bad you didn't finished it, because the gameplay and the idea of the theme were interesting.

nesis says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Lovely mood, very haunting atmosphere to the game.

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:44pm

ughhhh i want more of this :( please make it i will give you a dollar.

I played it for a while without having read your disclaimer saying it was incomplete and now I am sad sad sad. I'm giving this a stupid high rating because I love it

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I basically have the same things to say as everyone else:
- super duper graphics and atmosphere
- I wish there was more

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]