Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moebius Racer

by Brian Crick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Racing on a moebius strip.

WASD to move.

As usual for my stuff, you can't win... or lose... or restart. But hopefully it's pretty. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Graphics4.21
#139Audio3.50
#166Mood3.50
#634Innovation3.06
#739Fun2.84
#816Overall2.95
#965Theme2.56
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:55pm

It's a good starting project and I like the shader which you use on this vehicule. It can be improved. Bravo ++

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Would be a very cool map for a cart racer game.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Beautiful graphics and atmosphere - really enjoyed it but lacked a challenge.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice game, kind like wipeout hd, I just think it could be harder, because i just keep with accelerating and keeps on 1st.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Love the atmosphere. It was a really nice experience, but as icedvariables said, it could be a bit more challenging :) Well done !

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Very cool presentation. The camera especially feels very epic. I'm curious as to how to did the mobius strip physics as well.

Brian Crick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

The way I did the physics was... well, I didn't quite figure all that out, hence the wonkiness in the collisions. However, the car and camera positioning is actually kind of interesting in its own way. Each car (including your own) has its coordinates stored in a sort of moebius-strip-specific coordinate system.

X is a number from -1 to 1 where -1 means you're on the left side of the track, and 1 is the right side; y is your height above the track (which is constant) and z is your distance traveled in laps. So moving is just a matter of incrementing Z by your speed and adjusting X based on pressing A or D. Then, every frame, I convert that coordinate system to a real world coordinate system where Z controls both your position going around the circular track and the twist of the track relative to the horizon.

(Ok that was a bit convoluted I guess... hope that makes sense.)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Really nice graphical style, 5* from me! A great beginning, and clever to use the moebius band, but where is the challenge? The theme connection is pretty weak too. Still gives a good mood somehow, and a relaxed feeling!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Beautiful game, gorgeous music. The atmosphere is serene for a racing game, which is unique.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Hi there. Lovely looking tech. demo. Good job!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:48am

Looks nice, but no after a while it gets boring. Adding winnin/losing conditions or crashing against another racer or falling off the strip would be great.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Well, it is really pretty but if we can't win or loose it isn't a race, nevertheless there's no end in a moebius band so it makes sense it's an endless race. Great take on the theme, the game has a nice atmosphere and it feels very polished except for the collisions.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I like the graphics, this reminds me some chillout songs !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]