Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warplink Attack

by bvanschooten - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Protect your warplink against attacks with your linked cannons. Pick up blue things to gain extra shields.

Engage warp anomalies that appear randomly to time warp into anomalous versions of past worlds, where you can replenish your shields.

The mouse controls the white cannon. Use W,S,A,D to move in the subgames.

Made using HMTL5/WebGL and jgame.js.

NOTE 1: There is a 60% chance that a warp anomaly appears, early in each level. Stay inside it for a couple of seconds to engage time warp.

NOTE 2: The game has sound. If you don't get sound, try another browser. There is no music, though there is an option to turn music off (sorry...).

NOTE 3: Your browser must support WebGL. Browsers that do are: IE11, and recent versions of Firefox and Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Fun3.93
#58Overall3.86
#88Graphics4.03
#164Innovation3.72
#284Mood3.32
#378Humor2.63
#528Audio2.75
#623Theme3.17
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

akios says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 5:50pm

really awesome 10/10

Zer0 says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Wow. Thats awsome. Mindfuck level of Super Hexagon. Gj man ^^

agilejoshua says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Very cool.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:20am

Very cool, but I want sounds. THX for this game ++

c4chaos says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:14am

That is weird but I like it nice one

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:27am

Brilliant.

Nothing is clear, but cool action! :)

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I think the duration of a level and the time between two waves is a bit too long, so your left waiting between them.

Duncan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

looks real pretty :)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

-------------Final version submitted-------------

Thanks all for the early comments! I now submitted the final version. Comments above here, except for the one by Duncan, are from older versions.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

This is great! I really want to play this on a touch screen.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Interesting control and game mechanics.
I like those weird anomaly gimmicks.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

trippy 8) but how do we enter the subgames?

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

@pjimmy I added more instructions on how to enter the subgames.

locknic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Damn, idk why but when I try to play it, it says "WebGL is not supported". I think it's a problem with my browser. I'll try to fix that.

Also, about my game, if you had trouble controlling the worlds with the WASD keys, I think you might want to try the arrow keys. That way you can use the 1, 2, 3 keys with your other hand. Thanks! :D

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice variety between levels. I didn't expect the ships to change in behavior.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Very colorful game. Could play this for hours! nicely done!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

nice one :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Well that was fantastic! So many colours, and the sounds are simple but effective, I could have played this for hours, but I only had 15 minutes left of my lunch!

garygreen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Wow! What a great rainbow coloured shooter twist on the theme.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Aafter reading you comment on my entry, I was interested in seeing the alternative control method. The mouse definitely works for this style of game, with fast paced action, though I'm not sure if it would have fit as well with mine. That screenshot does not do the visuals justice - this is an awesome looking game in action, and a really unique mechanic for an arcade shooter. Excellent work!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Pretty awesome and enjoyable game. I had a lot of fun playing it. My only complaint is that I thought the particle effects made it a little too busy and difficult to see the elements that mattered. Perhaps with more time spent playing it would have become less of an issue. Either way, really great entry!

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Wow, awesome! So many colors! *_* 6x6 sprites are cool :D I really liked this one!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Nice

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

Woah! nice (chaingun frogger, haha)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

what a crazy collection! Needs sound (or was it just my computer) great stuff

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Great gameplay idea!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Hi there. Totally like awesome graphics dude... etc. Are you the spirit guardian of Jeff the Llama Minter ?

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

A bit mind melting at times. Also one bug seems to be moving the ships(?) outside of the browser area.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:06am

Fun in a Tempest-2000 way.
Some of the minigames (especially the pacman one) were a little repetitive.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Psychodelic! I liked it, a bit weird but fun. Good job!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Pff, I'm not good enough at multitasking for this. Great idea, nice graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]