Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fire and Ice

by foobraco - Jam Entry

This game was made by my girlfriend Lourdes and I for the Ludum Dare 30.

It's a 2 player game, where you want to reach your respective goal in the maze before your oponent does. You can place bombs to stop your oponent for a while. The maze changes everytime you play!

Controls

Player 1: WASD for movement and left shift for bomb placing

Player 2: Arrows for movement and right shift for bomb placing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Theme(Jam)3.59
#368Fun(Jam)3.06
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#472Innovation(Jam)2.88
#554Graphics(Jam)2.94
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

YopSolo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

404: Not Found :/

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Sorry, 404 not found!

foobraco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Sorry guys, it wasn't public yet! You can try now!

MacGeekPro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

If you used Unity 4.6 then the web player may not work. If it doesn't, upload a downloadable build.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00am

Fun game but could have done with smoother animations. Maybe some powerups that mess up your opponent's maze or something?

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

The game was fun, however the music kind of got annoying.

riktothepast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

Interesting concept, the boombing mechanic is confusing and the music is so annoying.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

Hmm unfortunatelu it stopped working once player 1 won?

Vidsneeze says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Fun game, more fun if you have some one to play with!

alhvi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01am

It was fun. Cute graphics. I liked the music too. Could be improved with smoother movement. But good job :D

foobraco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

@mlabarca @alhvi sorry! the dimensions of the unity player on itch were smaller than it should be, now when you play it gives you instructions on how to restart and go to menu.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Great little two-player game - sort of a different take on Bomberman :) Smoother movement would definitely help and maybe something to make it a little easier to keep track of the other player? A timed powerup of some kind? Portals where you can cross to the other side might be interesting as well - seems like there's a lot you could do with this idea :)

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Gave rise to a few surprisingly tense races once I coaxed someone into playing with me.

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

thanks for making this game

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Hi there. Works fine. Like the fire and ice reference. Manic music! Smooth movement would have been nice. Good job!

foobraco says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:34pm

@rogueNoodle yeah I was kind of inspired by Bomberman, I hope I have some time to explore some ideas further, like powerups and maybe a shared map where you can see where your opponent is.

@Aevek yeah, it can get really tense sometimes :)

@scriptblocks thank YOU for playing!

@mrexcessive you're totally right, the movement and animations are something I would've love to have the time to implement properly through the weekend.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]