Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

One

by Natman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow. I'm actually very surprised I was able to finish my game this time around. This puts me at 3-0 for successful Ludum Dare participation so far! :)

I had a LOT less time to work on the game than I expected, so the game is much smaller and simpler than my original plans for it. I spent most of my time working on the core mechanic, so there's only 4 levels, 2 of which are even the slightest bit challenging. I may add more in a Post-Compo version.

I was especially successful in my ulterior motive, which was to become comfortable and proficient programming with Lua.

Mac and Linux users will have to install the latest version of Love2d in order to run the downloadable binary. (Sorry!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#250Innovation3.56
#323Theme3.56
#583Graphics3.06
#585Fun3.00
#586Overall3.18
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20am

Woo! A Love2d entry! :) But for the ludumdare i decided to use Javascript, to go around the hassle to make a Win64, a Win32, a Mac and a Linux/Source build.

If i click Linux my browser tries to display the love-file as a text-file, this probably means the server sends the wrong Content-type or something? (Actually no idea.)

Anyway, nice mechanic! Quit confusing, too, as always, when you have to direct multiple characters at once. :)

Natman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Agreed. I would have chosen JavaScript as well if I hadn't wanted to learn LUA for other reasons. Packaging the game for all 3 platforms was a hassle, and it's a major reason why I might not continue working on the game for a post-compo version. (I'm still not sure if all of my packages will work on other computers - I'm waiting for responders to let me know if anything is wrong.)

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Interesting idea, simple, but nice looking graphics, and fun to play. It feels like you got have gotten a lot more out of that idea if there only was more time (but of course that's totally okay for a 48h game). Nice! One thing that might have been better: At first, I didn't remember which keys controlled which block, and I found myself trying that out every time I wanted to move. A little label on each block would have helped there.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51pm

OSX version doesn't run

Natman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34pm

@highlyinteractive Sorry about that. I don't know how to fix the .app, so I've removed the .app download link. Mac users can still play the game by first installing Love2D and using the "Love File" download.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38am

An interesting mental challenge. I liked it.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:10am

Very cool idea. Very difficult to control but still very impressive. With more levels and stuff this could become a great game.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:16am

This is a bit like patting your head and rubbing your belly at the same time ! I liked the minimal style & choice of complementary colours. One suggestion that could make it feel less frustrating and confusing would be to highlight the side of the box corresponding to the key pressed - I kept forgetting which box was WASD and which was arrows, but this would alleviate that, especially as future levels got more complex.
(Twitch stream here: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/5029045 from ~22:20).

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

BTW, it's Lua, not LUA, it means "moon" in Portugese ;)

Natman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:46am

Right you are! My mistake :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very interesting mechanic. More levels would have been nice, but I ran into the same issue with my build (though I have 5 levels, woo!) :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:32am

Clean simple visuals. I like the win sfx. Maybe could use an indicator when you try to move in a direction? I had to restart a few times before memorizing it.

Maybe the 3rd level could stay left and right instead of putting it above to incrementally increase challenge.

Fun idea overall.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Hm... I remember reading of someone who made a script that would generate the win32/win64/lin/osx version for you at the love2d.org forum.

... Oh, i just found something: http://www.ambience.sk/lua-love2d-game-distribution/
Never used it, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]