Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nyctophobia

by draxov - Jam Entry

Fear of the dark is as old as time itself, the original fear, in the dark anything can get us. In Nyctophobia you play as 'Nimbus' a being of pure light. Nimbus has the power to bring light to any darkness and has done so for all eternity. However the dark void grows ever greater and now the light must be brighter than ever to destroy the darkness.

Credits:
Thomas Roberts - Programming/Art
Kyle Hatch - Programming/GUI
Dean Stanfield - Programming

Controls

WASD/Arrow Keys - Movement
Mouse - Shooting Direction
Left Mouse Button - Shoot
Right Mouse Button - Pause

3 Pickups:
Rapid fire - Increases rate of fire
Speed boost - Increases move speed
Explosive Bullets - Bullets explode on impact

3 Monster Types:
Walker - Walks up to you and melee attacks you
Boomer - Gets close to you then explodes
Shooter - Jumps around you while firing projectiles at you

(Web Player may not work without Unity 4.6 beta installed http://unity3d.com/unity/beta/4.6)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Mood(Jam)3.68
#146Audio(Jam)3.57
#368Graphics(Jam)3.42
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#590Theme(Jam)2.60
#644Innovation(Jam)2.47
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Hey, I enjoyed this! You've got a great soundtrack and concept, the graphics are actually pretty creepy, and I had some fun playing!

I felt like initial enemies had a bit too much HP, and their bullets were too hard to see--I couldn't figure out what I was getting killed by and where to go, and most of the time I couldn't get any pickups because I was moving too slowly and was too far away when they spawned, even if I started heading towards them right way. I think I also may have shot one to death at one point o_O

Thanks for the game! I had fun.

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:01am

Epic music!

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Nice little shooter, felt a little slow though. I think I'd enjoy it more with more speed like a regular shooter. Real nice graphics and music, though!

stasss says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:23am

Very solid atmosphere and concept) Great work! All components fits great. Great teamwork, also. Really good music decision, it adds more scale to the game, FX really great for this atmosphere (I'm absolutely have no feeling like "this effect were added because everyone adds FX". Beautiful! Great variation for light and dark theme!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:27am

Liked the art style. Solid entry. Also, thank you for adding auto-fire, my fingers thank you very much :)

GravitasGames says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:34am

hey people, thanks for the nice comments. Just out of interest how have you been playing the game, webplayer, PC, mac, linux? And at what resolution, notice anything off.

As with most LD efforts having time to do proper testing is difficult. But we've considered polishing up a couple things and release for free so more can enjoy. Any thoughts are most welcome. Thanks for playing.

Kyle.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Really nice idea and concept, the music is really epic !
Maybe the player character could move a little faster, it is a bit frustrating in the beginning to move so slowly

barleyarley says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Great game. Not terribly original game play, but a good art style and well executed. Good job!

KEFIR says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very nice atmosphere! Simple yet enjoyable design. Good job!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Just wow!
Really creepy atmosphere. Music, artwork, everything fits nicely.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Hi there. Very nice looking shooter. Quite hard to see the crocs missiles. Pretty tough. Good job!

BobMorate says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I had fun playing it, thanks a lot for sharing! Nice music and gloomy graphics go very well with the ambience you wanted to achieve. Kudos!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:59pm

While I am not a fan of scoring game, this one was nice, with good music. Adding sounds effects when you are hit, or when killing an enemy would be even better.
The graphics helps well the atmosphere, too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]