Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Words

by hypp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connected Words
---------------
If you play the game, please post your score!

Instructions
------------
Connect the world of ASCII with the world of REGEX.

Use the mouse to connect the falling red words with the correct green regular expression. You might want to learn regular expressions first. See http://perldoc.perl.org/perlrequick.html

The game starts immediately when the page has loaded,
including the music. You might want to turn the volume down.
To restart the game, just reload the page.

Tested on OSX in Safari 7.0, Firefox 31.0 and Chrome 36.0
Tested on Windows in Internet Explorer 11 (looks ugly!), Firefox 31.0 and Chrome 36.0

Credits
-------
The game was made using:
- CoffeeScript
- PhysicsJS
- Buzz
- Reason
- Audacity
- rAF.js
- domready

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Audio3.96
#29Humor3.88
#176Innovation3.70
#650Theme3.13
#709Overall3.06
#739Fun2.84
#745Mood2.77
#1011Graphics2.33
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Quite fun !
Concept and music are great !
Game engine has some issues... (I had trouble to drag \ element)

PS : Thanks to you I needed to revise my regexp x]

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Lol, I'm loving the voice. Super hard though, I was just guessing...

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04am

Aww word play "words" "worlds".

To "code-like" for me to get anything.
But fun idea.

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Love the music, love the voice. Playing the game seems to require a certain knowledge I don't have though !

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

No idea whats happening, but the voice clips and music made up for it!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Cool idea. The voice is hilarious. Collision detection with the mouse felt a bit inaccurate though.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

That is just bizarre. I love the idea of playing with regular expressions like that. I think that it could probably start a little slower and then maybe speed up and it got a little hard to keep going once most of the words were upside down. Also, I'm amused by the wordplay on the theme, although I'll still have to rate lower for that. Audio is awesome.

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Original and fun. Cool sound effects and music. Good job all round.

I need to learn regex.

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I like the play on words more than I liked the game. I did like the play on words quite a lot! The big drawback is that the idea has quite a niche market.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I found this educational, which is awesome.

However, I had a lot of problems trying to click on the right word (it tended to give me a nearby word even though I clicked on the word itself), and I think some of the strings satisfy multiple expressions (though I don't know Regex very well so I could be wrong).

lightsoda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Had to brush up on my regexp, my best was 1024.

When the words start piling up the mouse picking gets a bit wonky.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great music and voice work. Original interpretation of the theme. Good stuff.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

Yay, edutainment! One thing is clear: I suck at regex. Another thing that's clear is that when I start reading up on it more proper I will definetly come back to this game to exercise! I'm also a big fan of using your own recorded samplings =D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Interesting game. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

Interesting but definitely not playable for a non-programmer.

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

That's a cool game to learn regular expressions!
Great and hilarious audio

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Pros: Very innovative!
Cons: A bit to easy, word and digit matching was always a success.

Macocco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Interesting take on the theme (a typo?). Don't understand why I always have a negative score in the end though. Audio was funny!

ambi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I think this is a really good concept. The music and the audio is good. I hope you make a post-compo entry that has more variation in the regexes. This could be a fun tool to practice my stagnating regex skills.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:48am

I like how the premise of this game is a play on worl?ds. I thought this game w.s \w+ \w+ and rather \w+ed it. \w+ job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hi there. Great idea. Got 310 first try... more next, but clicked away. Is frustrating that once you start dragging a link, if the source word gets knocked by incoming words, then the link breaks. Might also be nice if they flipped to shop word right way up - because rotating words in your head is not really part of Regex understanding - though it feels like that sometimes! Good and unusual job!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:26am

Looks interesting. Mouse position somehow not correctly calculated? I need to learn a programming-language to play the game? Maybe you can also include different themes, could be used as nice learning game for children, or vocabulary etc.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]