Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chalinkamachoo

by commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is kind of interesting, haha!

My take on the theme this time was to have you gather links together to break through the barrier that separated the worlds. This would in turn help you defeat the enemy and free your friends.

But. This is hard to grasp based on what you see. :D

So, the idea is there in all its form and glory, you cannot beat the game till you break down the wall and connect to the other world. You will find a creature there that will help you defeat the boss. Otherwise the boss will be UNDEFEATABLE. You do not want this.

General gist and guidelines: (I'm sorry about no tutorials, it's quite a feat to pack that in when the scope is too big. xD )

movement is W-A-S-D keys, with the mouse used to aim and fire.

goal, collect gold links from the corrupted friends. Once you have 200 of them break down the wall and connect the worlds. Then summon the boss by shooting his bell and reduce his health to zero. Then deliver the final blow. Your new weapon will not reduce his health.
The other weapon will fire once charged, sometimes it is stubborn, though and will not comply.
you get health from the golden links. Use this to recharge some lost health.
your 2ond weapon will shoot through enemies so it could be used to spawn more links at a time.

Good luck defeating the biggest boss I've ever made ever. xD
he's pretty tough, so don't be discouraged if you don't beat it the first time.

If you die, you will have to reload the browser to reset. I didn't have time to put in the reset for the variables.

thanks! thanks for playing. I love you all for trying and playing my game. :D

-Commanderstitch

ps, the other two pictures are funny and were part of the development fun. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Humor3.20
#592Audio2.66
#645Graphics2.97
#699Fun2.88
#745Mood2.77
#950Overall2.79
#1017Innovation2.45
#1087Theme2.23
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

♪What does the fox shoot?♪

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53am

AH hahahahahahahahaha

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hi there. The game looks amazing, I keep summoning the boss accidently - looks great. Good job!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:47am

Love the sfx, especially when you rescue the blue guy and the boss sfx. I would have liked to try to kill the boss more, but the initial collecting is a little slow/tedious.

Another skill like a movement boost or something powerful but on a cd might help it some.

The boss mechanics were interesting and a joy to fight & watch.

The bow being "stubborn" is just frustrating... I would have liked it to be predictable even if it's different from the normal bow.

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:45am

The sound effects in this game are hilarious! I had trouble telling how the weapon switching was working, but overall it was just a fun romp with good feedback.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

This game was super fun. I picked up my cloud buddy and charged up for the final blow, but I think the game bugged out =(

I really like how you tied together a lot of different elements and made a fun experience without explaining too much. The audio was hilarious and added a lot to the mood.

Acuity says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:43am

Odd game, I couldn't figure out how to fire the second weapon, maybe it failed?

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

Fun and funny game. Great sound.

bluesky says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

Good job.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:38am

Good job!But the game doesnt show connecting the worlds after getting the second gun.

kidando says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:02am

Those sound effects :D. Awesome game. Congrats on submitting your entry

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:23am

Sounds are awesome :D

lasecun says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:29am

Hi, I had trouble undestanding the mechanism of the game, but at the end was funy. Thx for share this game for us and good job.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

Best boss ever. :D

Tosic says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:59am

OK nice idea, boss is a little big though...

Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great sound and the graphics were fun as well, especially the boss animations.

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice game, cool art.
Took a few tries to deafeat the boss. :)

cardboard says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:42am

Once again, the graphics and style of your game is super unique and smile-inducing. The voices remind me of Mumbo Jumbo from Banjo Kazooie, which is great. It took me a few tries, but I ended up defeating the boss, which felt rewarding. The level of challenge is good. The boss is super huge, which is both good and bad. It's bad because then it's hard to see him without getting mauled, but it's good because he's huge and menacing. Great job with this one :D

Artamus says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Haha, nice game, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]