Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warp Paint

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle-platformer where color is very important. For the best experiences, please play in a modern (webGL enabled) browser.

Since a few people have asked, the music was generated using cgMusic during the 48 hours.

Keyboard Controls:
-Arrow Keys to Move
-Up or Space to jump
-Tapping Z Picks up balls
-Holding Z throws balls
-Holding X does something cool (not enabled at start)
-M toggles sound
-If you run into a bug, press R to reset the level

Xbox Controls (must use Chrome):
-Analog stick to move
-A to jump
-Tapping X picks up balls
-Holding X throws balls
-Holding the Left Trigger does something cool (not enabled at start)
-Back toggles sound
-If you run into a bug, press Start+Y to reset the level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Fun4.11
#29Overall4.05
#97Innovation3.89
#135Audio3.52
#210Graphics3.69
#222Theme3.71
#236Mood3.40
#400Humor2.57

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Great use of theme here! Very tight controls, excellent puzzle platformer gameplay. I love how you keep revisiting previous areas to make use of their stuff!

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

Really fun game, but moving around on the map can be a little hard at times.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Great game! Nice graphics. Well-fitting music.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Oh wow, this is mind-boggling in so many ways, I love it!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

liked it, very nice game :)

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

I have no idea what I am doing: http://postimg.org/image/c8asga10v

Very cool new mechanics, like the recoloring and transportation of portals. The visual style is just stunning. But just as in my game, the movement is just to fast and abrupt. One of the best games of this LD!

Also, I had to restart the whole game once, when restarting the level put me in a place where I couldn't move over and over again. Can't exactly tell which world it was though. I was stuck in a gate in the top right hand side though.

elliottd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

very fun, couldn't get the level where you move the teleporters. I like the signalling on the throw wind up. I think the game would have benefited from maybe a quarter second long effect when you go through a portal or a door. Good entry, congratulations.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Really cool and well designed puzzles, it is clear that
a lot of thought went into the design process. Good job!
The stages are built in a way that gets progressively more
difficult but lay out the mechanics in a way that help you
overcome the later challenges with the knowledge you
acquired. Had lots of fun with this

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. A major game-breaking bug had been fixed, and it should be a whole lot harder to get stuck now :)

Remember, if you do get stuck, just press R to reset the level.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Hi there. I really like the level design and graphics. Ball/Hole idea also a good one. +1 for piano music!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Adorable Pixel art. Liked how fast and and heavy the feel of the player was.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38am

This is really really fun. Very very well done. I got stuck at the Red/Blue/Purple stage. Definitely be proud of this game!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18am

This is the best LD game I tested by far, went to the end (http://prntscr.com/4gvqwr) and enjoyed every single second. The art style fits perfectly the action, everything is smooth and fast and the music isn't boring at all.

The controls are a bit tedious (I hate to have my hands crossed over my keyboard and I hate microsoft even more) but that's the only black spot.

You should totally consider adding more levels, even if now all the mechanics are well used and make it a real game.

+ you used construct 2 and I love to see what people can do with this software.

Congratulations.

Simon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:03am

Very cool to play. A very good game overall.

dhargan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

really nice game. good job mate.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:42pm

nice game

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Best game I have tried so far.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very fun game. I liked how you made the gameplay fit into the theme.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18am

Really funny the exploration of the mapping!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

What I liked about it----------------------------------------
The game-play, tough levels, stuff like that
What I hated about it----------------------------------------
The page always went unresponsive after a while, and I'd have to start all over again!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

@danidre14

Sorry to hear about that. It's the first I've heard of it. What OS and browser were you running?

cleitoneldorn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Wow1 Great game. Love the innovative mechanics.

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Good job.
At first, I thought I was going to have troubles completing the game, that the controls were a bit too hard on the cognitive charge, but each level being carefully balanced and teaching you and helping you master the way the game is to be played I made it through.

And it was a very pleasant experience. The music is nice in the background, the puzzle getting "harder and harder", the levels are connected into a single world, and elements from a past level WILL be to be used in the next.

It's overall clever and brilliantly produced.

Great job ! Especially in the timelimit of the compo !!!
Probably my favorite entry I've played so far.

Huge congratulations Zach !

Oli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Wow good graphics, good music, good gameplay, good level design... You rocks ^^ !

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

Very smart gameplay! I especially loved the last puzzle - I had a feeling that the color mixing was going to come into play more than once ;)

Just a small thing - I managed to find a bug by jumping through this portal while charging a ball through and releasing at the same time as I went through it. Check it out:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/12239448/bug.png

Also just a quick question - did you write the music? Not to be rude if you did, but it's just that there are 3 full length pieces there that are all really well written which seems quite weird for a 48h compo entry.

If you didn't write the music then it's technically against the compo rules, so for now I'll just vote N/A for that.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

Great game man! Very original concept and fantastic level design! Amazing result for the time allotted.

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

@RHY3756547

Thank you for the bug report. It is appreciated. Off the top of my head, I have no idea how the player could have been transported to above the stage. Oh well... these things happen. Since this is the first report of it, and you can reset the level pretty easily, I'm not sure if I'd classify it as a game-breaking bug, so I'll probably leave it in.

Regarding the music, it's a fair question. It was generated during the 48 hour period, which is allowed per LD's rules. The specific music generator was cgmusic.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:45am

Love love love the innovation and graphics! Great job!

aneeslol says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Incredibly well designed and executed!

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

Very nicely done game. Played with a gamepad, and it felt really responsive and all the mechanics work really well :)

The game also has a nice very mood as the result of the design and audio.

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

The mechanics in this were very clever, I loved the way that it all comes together at the end!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:37am

Wow, I'm impressed with how much you got packed into this game. Aesthetic look is lovely, and the controls feel very responsive. Things like coloring the ball felt very intuitive to me and everything felt very interpretable (is that a word? it is now...!). Excellent work, well done!

Raphy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

Impressive amount of content, nice level design and cool concept. Good work!!

TD5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Good graphics, but fantastic puzzles. I loved when you introduced the role of the 'X' button!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Very charming game! The puzzles were really well done and kept me wanting more. The pacing was perfect to make all of the concepts feel very intuitive. The controls felt a little too touchy and gravity a bit too fast, but maybe that was just on my machine?

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Wow this was amazing. I played with my PS3 controller (with Xbox drivers) and it felt really comfortable. The puzzles where at just the right difficulty to figure them out.

Sometimes though I was a little worried the setup wouldn't work to well, my setup for the least level for example I wasn't sure if the ball would go where I wanted it. It turned out fine in the end though.

Definitely one of the best LD games I've played thus far.

WiErD0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Wow, best game so far. Love puzzle games, and this one is really mind boggling (though I managed to get to the last level). Excellent pixel art, and great use of the theme. Also, if you made this music, great job, but otherwise, I would check out http://www.abundant-music.com/ for a technically legal way of getting music, since you aren't suppose to use other peoples.

I think this one should win by far, btw.

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Great mechanics, clever puzzle gameplay and - most importantly - a good difficulty curve. Great game!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

@WiErD0

The music was generated in the 48 hours using a music generator called cgMusic, similiar to abundant music

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:38am

A fun game with clever puzzles!

aeveis says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:39am

very nice! clever use of being able to carry the portals. I also notice you could portal through the walls sometimes (and get stuck) and end up in another level, I thought that's what I had to do at first near the end, but then figured it out. :)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Fun game! I like it how that gray guy moves. Very well made!

Retl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Played all the way to completion. It's a good game made quick! Nice stuff!

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I couldn't think outside the box, haha. Nice game!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:20am

Controls could use some tightening. Solid game but got tricky pretty fast. Nice job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:18am

That was really cool

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Really fun game, I can see the Portal influence! You managed to keep things fresh and interesting for each puzzle. I enjoyed the audio as well.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:10am

Ok, so first off I want to say that this is an awesome puzzle game, with tons of potential to become something even greater. It's also really hard, which is good ;) The only negative thing I can say is that there are some angry bugs here, man. The balls often fly out of the map, which ruins your whole round. The reset room button is awesome though. Overall a very fun entry!

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:24am

@rawboSaurX

Thanks again for the thoughtful play through. The bugs you ran into are due to drops in FPS, which I'm guessing were partially cause by you streaming at the same time. If you gave the game a go when you weren't streaming, I'm guessing you wouldn't run into the same problems. Either way, thanks for playing, it's always great to watch another player live.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:39pm

The main character design was really nice, overall a good look to the game. I think you did some excellent level design, which I think is really hard to do over a weekend so great work on that. Throwing things is very satisfying too. Awesome job overall

Snoother says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Really clever level design with challenging puzzles. (So challenging in fact that my puzzle-inept self is still solving it as I write. I may have to revisit the game at a later date. Damn, I'm hooked.) And it's very coherently thought out considering the time constraints.

I don't know if this is intended or not, but there's about a 10 second period of conspicuous silence while the music changes. But I'm nitpicking. I feel obliged to suggest improvements... Maybe some graphics polish? But I don't know much about graphic design so I don't like to comment. Hm. I'm stumped. Good work!

Dohan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Those two final levels are great. Very solid entry!

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:58pm

It was a lot of fun, I enjoyed moving the portals around in order to solve the puzzles.

I recorded my playthough of it, and it will be up on my channels Monday September 8th. http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

Posva says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I love how smooth teh platformer is

blay09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice mechanics and good puzzles, well done!

Wertle says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:57am

I loved this game! The mechanic of carrying the portals around really added a fun, innovative twist to the puzzles that I hadn't really felt before. Even though there were a lot of mechanics going on, I felt like you ramped up the introduction of them well. My critiques are minor: Things happened SUPER FAST on my machine (is your game framerate independent?), it would be nice to have some beats or breathers at the transitions, like when you go through the portals, because I felt like I didn't have enough time to celebrate my brilliance at a successfully executed puzzle because it moved so fast that it was basically instantaneous. Another piece of feedback: while the art was well constructed and the music pleasant, if you continue to develop this I would encourage you to explore a more cohesive aesthetic that fits well with the gameplay. And I do hope you continue it because this game is awesome! SUPER NICE WORK!!!!!!!!!!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:57am

Very nice job on this. The puzzles were well designed, especially for a game jam. The way that you revisit old areas as the puzzles get more complicated was mind bending. The controls were a little too quick and got a bit frustrating.

Wertle says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:16am

Oh! One other thing! Consider adding a grace period to your jumps - just enable jumping a few frames into the "in air" state so that it makes it easier to jump off a ledge without accidentally just falling. Minor nitpicky thing but it will help tons :)

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Really well designed puzzle platformer. I enjoyed the tricky puzzles, specially the ones involving doing something really fast in a coordinated way. Great work!

pvtroswold says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I loved everything about this! Very innovative, music was super, graphics looked stylish. Great theme usage. Good job!

someone says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Cool mechanics and great puzzles.
I like how you have to break the rules on the last levels.
Had to think a bit at the last stage, not dealt with subtractive colour for a long time.
I managed to get stuck in a ceiling once, portal was too close I think.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Very interesting and intelligent game mechanic. I also like the graphics and music a lot. Really great game overall.

fizzd says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Completed it, and I'm in two halves about this! On one hand I really enjoyed the puzzles, on the other I found the game rules - portals can be carried between levels but the balls wouldn't - to be a bit.. ineloquent? Like, I felt like I spent more time executing it and searching for things('now where was that portal...' ' now where was that paint stream..') than thinking about how to solve it.

For 48 hours though it would be silly to expect super polished puzzles, and hey, at the end of the day I had fun with this one.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:09am

This is a seriously impressive game for 48 hours, I love it! I saw that you posted a walkthrough which is great but I didn't need it.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:24pm

fun game, great graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:13am

No, thank YOU for making the game. And yes, I enjoyed it a LOT. The minimalistic pixel graphic works well, the music is cool (gotta look into cgMusic) and the sound effects work well too. But the real meat is in the gameplay, and damn, there's a lot of it. Every time I thought that you'd be done, a new unexpected mechanic pops up that nevertheless fits well into what you already know. There was only one moment where I was really stuck for a minute (where I had to figure out that I can throw balls into portals - and they can fly into other portals in turn), but apart from that, it was really smooth, but never boring. Near-perfect pacing, innovative mechanics and a lot of fun!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:19am

This was a really awesome little game. Not too frustrating, but still complex enough to not be boring either. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]