Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flower Power

by Boberro - Jam Entry

Reach blue box in northeastern side of the map.

TAB: Switch characters
1-2: Switch weapons
LMB/RMB: Actions

Edit: Additional web player hosting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#532Humor(Jam)2.00
#556Theme(Jam)2.73
#622Innovation(Jam)2.56
#667Audio(Jam)1.18
#702Mood(Jam)1.97
#720Fun(Jam)2.21
#720Graphics(Jam)2.29
#741Overall(Jam)2.50

Comments

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36am

It's an interesting concept, just not very fleshed out. It would really benefit from some sound effects.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35am

Nice game! I would have liked the flowers to grow back faster. Shooting was a bit difficult, and I didn't see a health bar anywhere. It was executed very well overall!

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52am

This is amusing. I like that the enemies that die just sit there. I agree with Maxium that it would really be nice with sound effects.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Not bad, but it took me a few minutes to figure out what I was supposed to do. The hedges reminded me of one of my favorite Sega games: Zombies Ate My Neighbors

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

This is mega awesome, worlds are so in contrast and this is really cool!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Web link does not load =(

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55am

@43iscoding: Maybe there was some temporary outage? It's the cheapest hosting I could find, but I didn't notice any problems with it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Intriguing implementation of the theme, when we switch to the girl, is that the past? is the soldier in the future and is that why if the flowers are planted in the time of the girl, tey grow into bushes when we play as the soldier?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice idea. I enjoyed it, although it took me a while to figure out what was going on. It's quite intense when they all start coming at you. Are the guards meant to walk inside the hedges?

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A really cool take on the theme. Shame about the lack of sound, but I still enjoyed it.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Couldnt ping the download server. Notify me if you want me to rate if/when its fixed. Thanks

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Some sound would make this pretty nice, and like others, I was a bit lost at first. Great otherwise!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Good game, it lacks the music and sounds of gunfire and would put more weapons

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Yes, it was supposed to be past/future.
And no, they were not supposed to walk into the hedge :) I have no idea how they do that, because pathfinding algorithm tells me there's no way to do that...
I'll try to upload web version somewhere else.

cstudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I could not cut out the wedge with the female character, and get trough with the male one... But I got the point!

Honestly, this is super neat. You can build so heavy story on this. For example: the girl could be in the past, before the war... like a grandmother of him. Or she could just be his wife at home. And how the think about each other, how the world reminds the other one.

So this idea has potential storywise. A lot of potential. I hope we will see something more serious game based on this.

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

It would have been easier with sound, I didn't see the point of switching to the women.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Hi there. They're in the walls!! Is the aliens reference intentional or accidental glitching. Combat fun. Good job so far!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:36am

The title is perfect.
It seems that when we are playing in the girl's dimension, action is still occurring in the soldier's one.
If it's really like this, maybe it could be nice to have some feedback about the situation.
Anyway, good idea.

StMatn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Very nice idea and really cute character models.
A little tutorial or at least explanation would have been great ;) maybe I missed something, but the replanting ability of the girl didn't seem to have any real purpose. Any form of health-indication would have been great for the soldier.
All in all great idea!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:47pm

The bullets are so tiny! At first I thought the enemies were zombies, until I realized they were shooting at me.
Also planting flowers sadly never made much sense only cutting them down, would have been cool if one could plant some thornbushes for defense, or something like that.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:43am

Interesting concept. Is the gardener caring for the vegegation in the past and the soldier battling there in the future? So if you cut the plants in the past they never grow and the soldier can pass?
Just don't know why the enemy soldiers could walk through the plants and I couldn't. That isn't right.

By the way, I see that you tried to run my game last week, but couldn't. I've detected and fixed some memory error, so you're welcome to come back and try again, if you like. Thanks :)

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great game - nice take on the theme!

binasa says ...
Jul 24, 2017 @ 4:40pm

A collection of some of the most famous works attributed to the anonymous street artist known as "Banksy".http://landshaft-dezign.ru/delayedlinks.php The clock, prominently displayed in every railway station in Switzerland, can be found more than 3'000 times across the country.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]