Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds apart

by goerp - Jam Entry

=========== PATIENCE PLEASE =======================
Please be patient while loading: its 5+ MB and has no preloader

==================== THE GAME ====================

A love story . . based on true physics (but not as we know it).

Try to connect two beings who couldn't be more different.

The instructions are in the game but here are the controls again:
Move by moving the mouse, use A en D to turn the fields, use W and S to zoom in and out.

================ PLAY TIPS =====================
The goal of the game is to 'write' a symbol with particles.

First gather all particles in a mid orbit, because too far out and they get stuck (that's a bug, they should disappear), too close to the atmosphere and they disappear as well).
The importance of most particles in one orbit: the game checks random particles if they orbit in the required shape. This takes some time, so it will recognize the shape sooner when all particles follow the same path).

The particles are supposed to turn clockwise.

=============== REWARD ============
so if you do manage to finish it: send me a screen shot at '' and I'll reward you with a trophy!

=============== POST COMPO ==============
The post compo version should give more hints on what is expected of you, what is wrong with the symbol. The rest of the game is identical to the original.

All music, graphics and coding done in 72 hours by me, and afterwards some bugs solved that made the game unfinishable.

I used the Starling Framework and the Camera Class from the Citrus Framework.
Music on guitar with a Zoomg3X for effects and AquesTone for the singing.

============ FIXED PERFORMANCE HTML ================
EDIT 27-8: I fixed the performance issues with the html version, it was sooo slow, only a superhuman would be able to finish the game (it affects the other versions too, because they are all the same file really (swf)).

=============== BUGS ========================
Update: 30-8: I found a game breaking bug (it made the game as good as impossible to finish).
I fixed it, and I have myself finished the game in 10 minutes, so it is possible.

The game uses a home made simple shape recognition and it might not be what you expect.
If you have something that you think should be the right shape, but does not get recognized, please if you could make a screenshot and send it to:

Downloads and Links




Dx724 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Showing as a white screen for me.

goerp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

@Dx724: That's weird. I found it working on several computers (all windows 7, though).
The game does need a good computer and a (browser with a) recent version of Flash

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice idea. A bit laggy when changing wind direction. Keep it up!

lasecun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:33pm

For me workd in Chrome with Linux.

The game... i can't find the objective of the game. Maybe more clear the tutorial at the beginning.

Anyway. Good Job and congratulation for your game.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I enjoyed the physics and changing the direction of the particles. Cute story too. :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

pretty cool idea. loved the story in the beginning. got me hooked

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Awesome game. Idea very well executed.

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Though I had no clue how to actually win, I had a blast just flying around.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice idea. I enjoyed checking the particle flow from far... I happened to have a background music "Peace of Mind" (by incompetech) playing... and I think it fit really well :)

The game is tough. Drawing those symbols is really difficult. I'm not sure but maybe something like "dropping" points that affect gravity would help drawing the symbols.

Would be also nice to have a better indication about what exactly I need to draw.

If you want to expand, you can add another planet there to affect things... and then third one, and some meteors and whatnot.

Nice entry. Tough but different from any other so far.

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Interesting mechanic! Quite hard to figure out how to 'make' shapes... a slight tutorial-ish thing would help. I just hope the universal shape for love is triangle? O:)

madmaw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm


frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Great mood for this one! I gave up after a while - I didn't really manage to make much headway. A pity too, I would've liked to see that particular love story play out...

I liked both the graphics and the music and the concept is just adorable. As well as being a take on the theme I could've never thought of - really cool! : )

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:46pm

On my first try, I had absolutely no idea what I was doing, and all particles got stuck on the edge of the planet. And I had my doubts about your game having a win condition.
On my second try I read your tip about gathering all particles in an orbit and that you actually DO have a shape recognition win-condition, so I tried again, and after many small nudges to quantum space at least I got something like "Not quite right, but you are getting there".

Unique concept, but incredible hard.

goerp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Apologies to all:
It turns the game was unwinnable at the state it was in (some last minute edit that I didn't test).
I fixed it, tested it, and it's now playable.


sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I just enjoyed flying around arranging the particles any way I wanted. I really digged the atmosphere and mood of it :)

Great work!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Love the concept, solid entry!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Wasn't expecting this, WoW ! Love the story, the mood and the music ! The gameplay is cool but i'm not patient x)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:28am

Wow. this game was interesting. Never seen anythinglike this. YOu were right about it being hard though, very hard. :D Not sure if i igot the right shape. Mostly the particles would get allgrouped up together. needed more arrows on the bigger picture, maybe toggleabele arrows? :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:09am

I got "not quite right"... but I don't quite have the patience to continue. This is a great concept.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]