Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Linked Colours

by Florent - Jam Entry

Link all the coloured dots together !
It's a puzzle game where you have to connect all the squares of colours together to complete the level.
But links can't cross each other and some squares have a required number link to have.

Just click on a square then click on a square whose color is identical or close to connect the two together.
An so on, until all the squares are somehow linked together (see third screenshot).

Mouse over the (i) icon in levels to have instructions.

There is two tutorials and a random level generator which can take up to a couple seconds to generate a level as well as produce unsolvable levels (it's rare, but it happens).


Made alone in about 22 hours with CraftStudio and a framework of my own.
Icons are from Font Awesome.
The three sounds are from Keyney.nl and Open Game Art.

You better use Chrome instead of Firefox as it loads very slowly on the later.

Enjoy and tell me what your think !

Find me on Twitter : @FlorentPoujol

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#184Innovation(Jam)3.44
#303Overall(Jam)3.33
#388Fun(Jam)3.02
#456Mood(Jam)2.95
#532Theme(Jam)2.79
#571Humor(Jam)1.79
#578Graphics(Jam)2.89
#600Audio(Jam)2.13

Comments

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great mechanic!

saswat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice Puzzler.......

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Not as simple as it looks like. Nice entry. Great puzzle :D

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50am

Connecting the similar colors interested me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered dragging to link?

Florent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

@ethan Sure, dragging makes sense and would save quite a few clicks.
I would certainly allow that IF I work more on the game, or make a new version of it in the future, but not for now.


Note: I updated the game with the debug features turned off, the game is now faster, especially the random generation.

Thanks for the nice words everyone !

bkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

Great! Surprisingly addictive.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Nice puzzle game!

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

i love it. can play it for hours

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Nice game, very easy and pretty complex in a good way at the same time.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Addictive puzzle game :D Good job!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44pm

It took me quite a while to figure out what I was doing :)

I would suggest making some very simple beginning levels to get the basic concept across before jumping in. Also dragging could be cool to build the links...

Nice job!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Great entry! It took me some time to figure out the exact rules, but then it's pure bliss! Well, with drag and hold controls il would have been, but hey it's fun already. Can't wait to see a more polished version on my Android *wink wink*.

Reminds me of the game "Lyne" which is quite similar.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Mechanics are well thought out and it's addictive

Florent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

@Ponywolf and @ZBGE : have you noticed that you can mouse over the i icon to have instructions ?
And I don't think you can make a level more simple than the first tutorial. :D

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Works very nicely and some levels are quite puzzling

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17pm

@Florent: Yes I read the tooltips, but still I had some troubles with the 2nd tutorials:
- I wasn't sure whether all points should all connect into a single entity, I dumbly thought at first I just had to connect everything to at least one other point.
- I wasn't sure whether the "n connections" points had to be matched with exactly n lines, or if they were just tools for connecting the rest. Making them change a bit (like turning the lines white) when they are made "valid" would have helped with that part.

But with some trial and error I eventually figured things out, so no pb.

Florent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

@ZBGE "Making them change a bit when they are made "valid" would have helped with that part" Absolutely ! That was on the to-do list but didn't make it.

I reckon there is a general lack of visual feedbacks, I wanted to add more "juice" but as often, I hadn't the time.

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:37am

Good game. I liked the way you constructed a puzzle game under the theme.

-Path of Ai

Majko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41am

Sorry, I don't find it entertaining. Maybe better explanation of game mechanics would help, but I just don't know what I'm supposed to do.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49am

Great game!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09am

nice puzzle :)

erdnuss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:57am

Interesting mechanic, great game!

grifdail says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Nice. The random level are a bit too easy. Also you should make the "Help" button more obvious. And the feedback are a bit anoying (for instance when a want to unselect a node, it play this awefull sound effect... It's not really awefull buti heard it too much!)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47pm

The second tutorial level was fun and challenging. Unfortunate that everything after that is randomly generated.

tatmos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I like sound effects. and simple look.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22pm

+ puzzles
+ theme
- no music

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

Hi there. Interesting mechanic. Lv 2 took a while!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Addicting!!!! VERY NICE ENTRY! GOOD LUCK! :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Great idea, and work well as puzzle mechanics. Needs a few more levels, but other than that its a fantastic little game.

DoctorCope says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

At first it felt like I was just randomly clicking and there wasn't much thought involved so I didn't really like it, but once I got the hang of it I found it surprisingly enjoyable! I would definitely recommend some starter levels for introduction if you plan on developing further, but I don't penalize you against it given the time constraints. All in all, very well done mechanics with good visuals!

Simon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Very hard sometimes but very cool to solve anyway!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice puzzle mechanic, I hope you find the time to improve this game :)

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

It took me time to understand wich dots can connect to each other and which ones can't. i still think it's kind of confusing.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:02am

Nice puzzle, good job.

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:29am

Cool puzzle, nice work! :D

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:54am

Most interesting puzzle game I tried so far, nice! I managed to link all the dots without actually completing the level.. bug maybe?

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice game! Very addictive! =D

I got stuck on some levels, but it was fun!

Well done!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:19am

Interesting mechanics, well polished. I liked how you play with the colors. Don't see a great connection with the theme but overall it is a good game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]