Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Step Away

by PixelMonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as some kind of adventurer wandering through an ancient temple, with the aid of whatever space-bending artifacts he can find.
Made with Construct 2, GraphicsGale and SFXR.
WASD or arrows to move, and X key to open a rift.
Enjoy, and any feedback is appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Theme3.81
#198Innovation3.65
#201Graphics3.73
#204Overall3.58
#232Fun3.46
#306Mood3.29
#667Audio2.50
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:49pm

cool! i liked it a great deal, altough sometimes character gets stuck in an infinite death loop.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11am

Really good idéa! i like the difference between the worlds and I also really like the graphics for the "warpgate".
I just wish it was a little bit longer!(but it's a gamejam, so it's understandable)

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18am

I enjoyed it, the level design is quite good. The moment you realize that that seemingly innocent spike pit is actually a passage was a nice touch.
Like it was said above, dying is very glitchy. And I didn't knew what the golden key did because I went straight for the upper path first, but then I decided to backtrack and found the ending

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

Very nice game! I did get stuck in a death loop at one point. I was in the "dark" world, jumping to the next vertical screen, then dropped into the screen below. I really like the concept for the game, I could see this being a good full game.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice execution and graphics !

geometrix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice idea, but feels unfinished. Also a bit buggy: I got trapped in an endless loop of death by being stuck in a wall or something.

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice work and good graphics!!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I enjoyed this game. The mechanics were very clever and they tied in with the theme nicely. Great job.

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

Thanks for the feedback! The endless death loop was something that I did notice, but I couldn't really think of a simple fix for it. Generally it was in locations that you could open the rift while the death animation was playing so you could escape, but it's definitely something I'd fix right away if I do anything more with this.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Excellent level design and implementation of theme. I too ran into the death loop a couple times. Holding X when coming back to life seemed to keep me alive long enough to get to safety.

I though the subtle passages was a very good choice. As a player, it's always fun to come to a dead end, ultimately figuring out an out-of-the box solution.

There's definitely room for expansion and polish. Never-the-less, what you have it quite good. I wouldn't mind playing a longer version of this game. :)

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

This games great, I got stuck after a few minutes in. But this is so good!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Really clever idea nicely done. I enjoyed it a lot and wish there was more. Like others have said, dying is a bit glitchy.
I thought the guy was Paddington bear for a while.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Really fun idea, I didn't realise to start with that the 'altars' refilled your rift power. Death loops were a little frustrating but prob only way to fix that is by checkpointing at altars and that would be a pain to implement.

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:35pm

cool game, remind me super meat boy, when I tried to pick up the timing to swith dimensions. It was hard and I died many times :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Hi there. Great idea, nice start of an implementation. Got stuck in endless death loop trying to do the jump up where you have to go up instead of right for the first time. Good to see Construct2 being used again. Good job!

Kyatric says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Nice "Guacamelee" like "two-worlds" mechanic.
A bit hard to handle at first, but soon enough it does the job.

I managed to find the ending chest thanks to a comment.

Overall a nice little compo game, congratulations on a cool entry !

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:52am

Wow, this is great, a real gem! I loved the level design, and the gameplay is very elegant.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:18am

Nice works. I just got some bug with jump and collision when I change plan.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:43am

Sometimes gets stuck and dies, but other than that, great execution, I liked the finite nature of the portal thingy..

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:20am

I got stuck in the vilified loop-of-death too. But nice game, the mechanics work great, the graphics are neat and the audio cues good. Great job!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Pretty cool implementation of parallel worlds mechanic, quite different from typical application seen in many other platformers. Also, liked the Metroidvania-like exploration. There could be more of that, but again, timespan.

On a side note, I love the "seemingly innocent spike pit" expression (not yours, one of commenters'). XD

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I know there are a few bugs but they didn't impact on my enjoyment - this was pretty much a perfect game jam experience: it was short but packed in some good level design, interesting mechanic and nice graphics. I enjoyed figuring out the whole spike pit thing as well

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]