Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Annex Worlds

by dvdking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The guys were bored in their world.
They decided they wanted to have some fun.
They started to conqire other worlds to annex them, or use as a reconstruction material.

Controls:
WASD or arrows
Mouse
1 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#184Fun3.54
#471Overall3.29
#480Humor2.44
#544Audio2.74
#776Mood2.74
#790Graphics2.74
#801Innovation2.83
#998Theme2.49

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09am

Nice simple shooter. Good fun.

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04am

Nice Asteroids-spirit there. :)

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

I like your idea. The annex makes the player stronger and has a sense of growing, I like this kind of feeling. Also the particle effects are nice esp. the smoking trail of missles and rockets. The music is a bit dull though.

Overall nice job, I hope you could develop it further in the future.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10am

I liked the annex/healing mechanics, but I had serious lag issues playing this and my computer isn't exactly bad.

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10am

BTW, the controls are a bit hard, esp. the steering. This makes it hard to evade the bullets.

Orange says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56am

Pretty fun little game man! I enjoyed stacking my ship. Maybe if there was a way to further customize the ship... :D

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

Like the annex idea too.
The game fps becomes quite low whenever enemy shows up, no idea why.

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01am

That was fun! I liked how the more powerful I got the harder it got for me to maneuver.
Eventually I ended up traveling one direction, keeping myself slim against my opponents, but that didn't last long.
It would be interesting to see where this could go with more time.

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Are the called planets to fit with the theme? :P Anyways, liked the game! That feeling when I lost 10 planets in a second though, ouch... :(

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

That was fun! Those three cubes at the intro reminded me of Zoq-Fot-Pik from Star Control II :) Also lots of Star Control II vibes there

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

You start as a small ship that gets bigger to become master of the universe. Very good game

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

So simple, but so fun! I like the way game becoming harder :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

good fun and addictive :) excellent work

arhpositive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I was thinking like, "Hey this is fun and easy..". I was wrong and I learned it the hard way after losing half of my ship due to a destroyed part in the middle in around level 13. I didn't last long after that..

Solid entry. Fun and challenging and deserves a couple more plays to get better at it.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Cool Simple Shooter game! I appreciated how it started out very easy and gradually became more challenging! Good luck!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Neat

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:08am

SIMPLE FUN AND ADDICTIVE I UPGRADED WINDOWS To PLAY IT SO YOU OWE ME LOL

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Pretty fun entry here, though could use a bit more variety; split guns and rocket guns make for a rather little choice. ^^"

dvdking says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Test

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:33am

Nice! At first I thought the gameplay was a little bit confusing but then I got it after playing for a while. :)

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

I really like this game. Played it for quite some time, trying to get a larger and larger ship. It really does get quite hard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]