Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Solar Supply

by Josh Riley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game about managing supply chains in a solar system.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#22Fun4.04
#25Overall4.07
#34Innovation4.15
#67Mood3.79
#71Theme3.96
#98Audio3.62
#350Graphics3.44
#854Humor1.87

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Lovely work with the drones! (I'll call them drones). It's quite satisfying sending out a swarm of them :)

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

Okay, seriously, do not put your entry on a website with a 30 second commercial with no option to skip (and that my adblock can't stop).

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

Nice job, I like the balancing act that you created.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

Suuuuper fun and addictive. It's like an RTS with cool orbital physics.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

Amazing game! I love the micro management and resource system. The level progression made it easy to get into the game and start enjoying the click fest.

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

Endearing. Love the music and gameplay. :)

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice one! Got hooked for quite a while and I can see this as an awesome mobile game.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

That was fun! It's the best of the planet / resource games I've played yet (who would have thought that would become a subgenre). The audio is nice, the graphics could be made much better with only a little bit of work, and the gameplay was fun. I think this would be a good game to adapt for mobile. One problem I had though was that on a relatively powerful machine, I was still getting some pretty decent lag if I got enough drones fired off at the same time.

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Charming game, I could see me playing a much longer version though I would stick closer to the puzzle element of combining resources rather than too much focus on the missiles and trying to stop incoming objects etc. Well done !!

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Found it to be very fun! I also like the way the hectic element of the mechanics contrast with the calm mood. Really nice game, I would love to see this idea expanded upon.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Wow! Love this work.
Great minimalistic graphics and atmosphere.
Super fun gameplay and game mechanics... I'd almost say addictive :D

igoramendola says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33am

Awesome game! One of my favorites of #LD30 so far. The gameplay is pretty cool.
Great work... and if you make more levels, I would like to play them :D

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

Great concept! I loved having to balance generating resources with defense using the missiles.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47am

Great gameplay. I didn't see at first how fun this would be from first couple of levels, but with new mechanics being introduced every couple of minutes the game kept me playing for a while.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Very cool game, nicely done, balanced, great concept.

Altourus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Very fun

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:57am

Pretty cool idea... why are so many peeps putting their games with ads turned on though? You're going to make like 2 dollars ;)

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

It became complicated and stressfull really fast, especially with those little moving suns that I found really hard to take down.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Hi there. Love the clusters of mini-drones, great movement. Nice UI. Nice clear outputs and inputs for the various planets and mothership. Nice sounds. Finished (I think... mothership flew off) Great job!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Great game, really relaxing gameplay. I could imagine this working great on mobile.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:39am

What a little gem! Just to be sure, does it end with a fade to black? I loved the game design, how it progressively builds up to the last level. However, it must be said that it was a bit annoying that one planet circling the sun was blocking the view of my missile launcher planet from time to time. At the end what stays is a really enjoyable experience. Great job!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]