Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by bob_fish - Jam Entry

WARNING: There is a bug with the music on the first level. Please just restart the game when you have finished the intro and started level 1. Then just choose level 1 on the level select screen!

A dimension changing platformer with demon cows... What more could you want?!?

You are a farmer, who doesn't like farming. One day you discover a portal that creates doors that connect 2 worlds.

The game may feature a couple of glitches with clipping walls for a second, but nothing game-breaking or too annoying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#55Theme(Jam)3.92
#78Humor(Jam)3.48
#147Fun(Jam)3.49
#255Audio(Jam)3.34
#287Overall(Jam)3.36
#363Mood(Jam)3.12
#441Innovation(Jam)2.94
#591Graphics(Jam)2.86

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I had a lot of fun! Kinda funny, decent art and audio and nice difficulty.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11am

This game was a reasonable challenge. It was fun to play and took up a fair portion of time. It was a bit buggy, in some instances you could fall through the floor and bypass levels. The demon cows were very sensitive, sometimes it didn't seem like the took much to kill you. I liked the clouds and the music.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52am

Nice game. I manage to complete it. I loved the idea of how you switched back and forth and I could easily see you make more advanced levels given more time :-)
The movement was a bit too slow for me, but I suppose it was the thing that made the demon cows more dangerous. I loved how you had to use them to remove obstacles as well.
A good game and a great idea :-)

skysailz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Hey guys, I'm the other of the two people who worked on this game so I don't think it would be fair to leave an actual review here but I would just like to say thanks to those who have played it and those who left a comment here. Thanks.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Thanks everyone for the nice reviews and helpful feedback. I have just updated the download with a few quick bug fixes relating to music and animation of the player and the cows. I will keep working on it and try to fix everything sometime soon and will add a link to that as a Post-LD update.

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Fun game overall, with a balanced lvl of difficulty. There were just a few problems with the collisions...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I think the character should move a bit more faster and the sky looks strange, but the game is quite good and enjoyable. And you're a jumping farmer! Who doesn't want to be a jumping farmer :D

seagaia says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

funny! for level design, try modifying the repetitive tasks like jumping a short distanc with something else. a faster player move speed would feel nicer, too, given level sizes.

doomista says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

The next level portals unlocks the next level, but I have to restart whole game to get there. But I managed to finish it, great job, nice ideas about the cows ;)

bob_fish says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37am

Ok, you no longer have to restart to play next level. This is now the last version.

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

You herd me.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Overall a very good entry, well done!
My only complaint was the fact that the background did not quite mesh well with the rest of the art.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Good music. nice mechanics. GJ

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Awesome funny game. Totally made sense though! great work!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Awesome game. Clever idea. Really liked how the music synced up with the dimension. Great work!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

Pretty fun game. Lacked that spit and shine polish but what you had you made work pretty well.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I should accept that it was quite fun to play this entry. I liked how challenging evil cows are(!) and that it is clear to the player where the game goes. Wish it was longer. Graphics and music need more effort. That's pretty all.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:35am

Very nice job utilizing simple mechanics in a lot of different situations. I would have really liked a pressure sensitive jump for dealing with the cows. Overall, I think the game could have used a little more challenge ramp up especially at the end, but overall really solid puzzle design.

StMatn says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Very nice game!
The slow movement and especially the slow jumping/falling were really awkward. The jumpmechanic nearly made me ragequit while trying to get past a demon cow...
There are some minor bugs with cow-collision and jumping (you can jump mid-air after walking off a platform), but all in all its a great entry!

jmf says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I like it! Art style was pleasant for me. Obvious collision detection problems which hindered it a bit but overall a good package.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Funny theme and good work with the music. The jumping seemed a bit too repetitive (the small blocks making staircases seems excessive).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]