Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries


by ken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Best Played in stand alone version, Web version has some weird lighting and frame rate issues for me.

WASD: Movement
Space: Jump
Mouse: Aim
Left Click: pickup and place shards

You are teleported to a strange world where there is no sound. You find fragments scattered around the land and 2 strange pedestals that seems to already have some fragments on them. Before too long you notice a black void consuming the land and you have nowhere to run. What will happen when the blackness consumes you?

My idea was of two worlds, one of light and the other of sound. These two were separated when the inhabitants of the light world created a right between the worlds which caused shards of each dimension to become lost in each other. You're objective is to gather all that shards and try to separate the worlds again.

Downloads and Links




hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27am

Interesting game, don't understand it, but can see a lot of work put into it.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice voice acting, but how can we play the dark screen without any feedback?

ken says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Haha thank you. Navigating the dark world was one problem I was struggling with in the end. There is a sound if you hit a wall and you can hear your footsteps to tell if you are walking or just stuck on a wall, but even though I tried to simplify the dark world level and I know the layout it's still really hard even for me to navigate, so I should have thought of more effective feedback to give. I still like the idea of being blind and navigating this other world, but it didn't turn out as playable as I had imagined in my head.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Nice game, really unique in the dark world, I ended up finding all the sounds, but spent more time bouncing off the walls :P

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I liked the idea and concept, but I too had a hard time navigating in the dark.

I managed to find two of the sounds, but couldn't find the third. I think a big part of the problem for those of us that didn't make the game is that we have no idea what kind of layout we're walking in. Is it a maze, a big open area, or something else? Is it the same big outdoor area? If so, I didn't get much time to familiarize myself with it before the dark came along.

The humming from the last sound didn't seem to vary in volume during the time I spent looking for it, so I had no idea if I was getting closer or not.

It would be interesting to see more of the game if you could figure out a more intuitive feedback mechanism for the darkness :)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33am

Love the concept, dark area was interesting though ;) Maybe a little refinement there. Otherwise a great game!

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

More feedback for the dark areas would be nice, good ideas though, decent execution.

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57am

couldn't figure out what to do in the dark, though I do understand what you're going for and I like it anyway

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

Interesting use of sound. Was quite the challenge. Gave up after 60 minutes wondering in the dark.

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32am

Interesting concept, but I have to echo what others have said that navigation in the dark world is just way too hard.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58am

great job! You dont see too many well made 3d games on here, this one was refreshing!

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12am

Agree with the other comments, dark area was confusing

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Hi there. Couldn't find the third sound beacon, but didn't have headphones just stereo speakers, cats kept meowing at not-very-useful moments... Nice graphics and movement on the visible part. Clever sound design for the dark part. Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

Great graphics, seems like you've spent a lot of time on it. Great job

Akurn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:24am

I love the concept, great game, the challenge was fun.
But like many people have mentioned, the dark world could be better. However I don't think it is a feedback issue, but more an awareness issue. In real life when you're in the dark, you know how much you turn, you can feel the environment and generally know your orientation (facing up or down). Not knowing the game world too much, I wasn't sure whether I was looking up or down, whether I could move forward, back, left or right. Assuming that you walk exactly as you did in the visible world, that created another problem because the mouse sensitivity in that world was quite higher than I'm used to in an FPS, which left me thinking "Did I turn 360 degrees or 180 degrees, or even 270 degrees?" in the dark world. Was the room a maze or a boxed room? Was the sound able to go through walls? All questions that could have lead to frustration.
It was a lot better once the sound was in range though (could use it to determine the way I was facing), so maybe having some ambient sound or echo could have helped the entire room. Or even restricting mouse look to only left and right, in both worlds, so the player knows that it won't be a problem in the dark world.
I was able to finish it (maybe luck?), but I could see how some people could get frustrated.
Great game though!

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:00am

I liked the take on the theme, too few games explore sound as a primary medium. Still got lost as hell though. :)

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Really love the dark world puzzle! :)

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:38am

Niiiice, loved the part in the darkness, well done, good concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]