Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Signum

by brookman - Jam Entry

Signum - A minimalistic and slick platformer made with Unity and Blender.

Code and design: brookman
Music: atombrot
SFX: Kenney Assets

Gameplay video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUrzrV2tEeA

Change log: Fixed glitchy controls which made the game very hard to complete.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#99Fun(Jam)3.59
#104Overall(Jam)3.68
#125Audio(Jam)3.63
#126Graphics(Jam)4.08
#152Mood(Jam)3.57
#249Theme(Jam)3.45
#287Humor(Jam)2.64
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15

Comments

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

There are some devious leaps of faith in this game! I love all the background effects especially when the cubes started spinning around the platforms and obscuring the view by moving into the foreground! Music was catchy too! Well done!

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23am

It's a neat little game. The core concept of switching between platforms in a platformer isn't exactly unheard of. The backgrounds don't really seem to compliment the gameplay, but they are nice to look at.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

WOW! Cool visual stile.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00am

really cool game, i loved what you did with suzanne, haha

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Really cool game:) simple, fun

Anti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

The backgrounds are amazing! The game itself it's fun but the idea is not super original. But a great game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21pm

This is great! Love the minimalistic design, and the music fits nicely :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Loved the visuals but sadly the controls feel very unresponsive at times. A bit tighter controls and this would've been very enjoyable.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Game was put together well, but the "switching-worlds" mechanic, in addition to being common, wasn't even used as well as it could have been. Although, the Suzanne level was insane lol.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Hi! I liked the concept. and the level design is pretty good. The sound is appropriate for the game and the graphics fit it well as well. Overall a very good entry.

If I would improve something, it's the ball's movements as they can be a bit rough around the edges and some of the times that I fell I felt that it wasn't fair.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Looks great. It was frustrating to control at times, not aided by the fact that my framerate was pretty low.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Cool visuals, solid entry. Another great platformer.

brookman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Thanks for all the feedback!

r0x0r & FlashRocks: Yeah, seems like Suzanne got into an accident involving industrial machinery. ;-)

About the controls: I tried to improve them, although they aren't "physically correct" anymore.

BMacIntosh: Are you running the web version? The game runs at a solid 60fps on my office (non gaming) PC. I noticed some lag, when I had two unity players running in different tabs though. It also helped using Chrome instead of Firefox. And you could also try the standalone version for better performance.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Very nice game, for my taste movement is a little to slow, but it's very fun and totally complete entry, everything works nicely here. Great job :)

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Fun!
Spinning torus and Robot Suzanne! Funny!

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Less is more. very good job. suzanne gets more stars :D

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Wow, this has some potential for a big game! I like the simplicity and clarity of what to do and how to do it, although inversion didn't work as I expected at the beginning of the second level and then I got stuck there. But I like the music, sounds, a visual style. Maybe speed up the movement for some quick dashing through the levels. Cool spin on the theme! I think you've done a nice job!

*** Ooh! Gamepad support! NICE! You should really mention that! ***

Now that I've played to ...uh... needs a level counter! Got to something like Level 6. There are parts that are frustrating to fail because it takes a little too much work to get over to them to try again.

I really hope you continue this game because you're on the right track. I'd add check points or make replay of each level less frustrating. Visually, though, I love your level designs. The cavern was one of my favorites. Love the background pieces except when it's hard tell them from the foreground.

Sorry, this is a lot of babble, but I'm a fan and really would love to know that you continue and level up this game. It's a really fun one!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Hi there. Nice platformer with toggle. Like the look and feel a lot. The soundtrack is great. Good job!

Split82 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I really love the visual style and controls feel.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:15am

Neat graphics, very stylish, and great audio. The level design is quite unique, maybe there could be some parts where, as some said, you should not take a leap of faith, that could be changed so the gameplay does not become a frustrating exercise. Level progression is good and I particularly loved the artsy backgrounds. Great job!

goosetickler says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Awesome visuals and really neat gameplay mechanic. Player felt a little slow but otherwise its a cool little game.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Simple but very nice, good job. Love some of the level designs!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Wow! Amazing graphics!

Nice to see another Swiss entry! I'm not sure how you figured out that I'm also Swiss, but great! :D

brookman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:02pm

ZYXer: You can look up all the contestants on this map: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=10313 ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]