Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stratera

by highlyinteractive - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's no real ending, but see how many points you can get before you run out of space.

INSTRUCTIONS:
Left-click to drag objects
Right-click to spin cube

Move wood to the desert & combine to build oil rig
Each area is connected (or it would be if I'd finished ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#64Graphics4.14
#176Innovation3.70
#391Overall3.37
#678Theme3.09
#766Mood2.75
#800Fun2.77
#914Humor1.67
#978Audio1.53

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

This looks and feels great. Nice work! :D

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Great execution. Loved the look of the game

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

Pretty neat! Innovative concept!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Cool controls/concept! Simple, but elegant.

Duncan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

stylistically the most pretty game I have come across so far

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

I really like the way this looks though I'm not sure on the game mechanics. Just seems more time consuming than challenging. Nice entry!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

This looks fantastic. Very resourceful use of simple animations. The control feels perfect.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

was a good time playing, was very good indeed your game, fantastic idea

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

i really love the look of this game, really beautifully executed! it would really make a lovely mobile game, i hope you consider continuing to build on it, congrats on a great entry!

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Nice Job , be nice that when you clicked on a pyramid such as the oil rig or hovered over it said what it was

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Interesting concept! It controls beautifully. The lighting and colors really do a good job at making the basic geometry look great.

Bemmu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

It was interesting to try and get all the combinations. I almost gave up at first as I couldn't figure out that I was supposed to drag things on top of each other on a certain type of terrain to get something to happen. The pleasing visuals are what kept me trying until I finally accidentally got something to happen. I continued until I had some orange barrels and then spent some time trying to combine them into each other over all terrain, but I suppose this is where you ran out of time.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very simple graphics, but very aesthetically pleasing. I liked the overall concept, and I could definitely imagine this being expanded upon. It was tricky to figure out some of the logic behind where things should go.

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

I like the idea of it and the visual is neat, though it was a little frustrating to try moving things to every side and figuring out which side to combine things on.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

The visual is so good but the mechanics is a bit frustrating. Nice job anyway. I imagine that you had a hard work on the gameplay.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

This is pretty cool, feels kinda like Doodle God (that mobile game where you start with the basic elements and combine them to create new things). I feel like this could turn into a pretty cool mobile game (or PC game ;) ).
Also, the visuals are really cool and unique .

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

This was a pretty fun simple concept

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31am

Interesting abstract way of representing resource gathering. I feel like this game would have been just as apt for the alchemy theme.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Great aesthetics and flawless controls.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

This is sweet! Love the simple visual style. Fun to fiddle around with.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I took me some time to figure it all out but in the end the "resource managements" mechanic works very good with your visual style.

But remove the GUI and add some info/help :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16pm

looks great, also i have no idea what each thing meant, I tried to get as many orange barrels as possible, before the cube is filled up, and I got 81. I could do better if I tried again, because knowing the mechanics helps, but that would be plain boring, doscovering it was the fun. A simple "yay, you made a orange barrel, thats cool" or some reward for combining stuff on ice would make it way more satisfactory

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Cool idea :D

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Very beautiful game and I like the idea. It was a bit hard to figure out how to play, but it was interesting nonetheless.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

It really looks like something you want to play with. What you can actually do is still limited, but there is potential for something really awesome!~

I love looking at the water.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

The thumbnail drew me in. I like the simplistic design of the cube and the terrain. I can't tell what half of the items are supposed to be. The game play and style shows promise but as it stands doesn't appear to have much point.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Love the style of the cube, found moving stuff a bit awkward and might've preferred to turn the cube manually, but that's just me.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Super nice game design, congrats!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32am

I don't understand all, but this game catches my mind for a long time. Well done ++

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02am

Very fun and interesting to play! However I would like to see some information/legend. I could only guess what are all those triangles/cylinders :D

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16am

Interesting game with simplistic graphics, I like it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46am

Nice idea, really like the gfx style, controls a bit sticky sometimes, would have been better with cursor-key rotation.
Good work!

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14pm

It's an attractive prototype and the controls are interesting, though there's not a lot of motivation for players to build things.

The models are nice in a sort of "German style board game" way but I wouldn't mind more detail.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very pretty, finding the combos was fun

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Nice colour, good concept.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Very interesting concept! You should definitly finish it! Very cool graphics!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Look and feels great, but I had no idea what I was doing :)

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Fun ! Very nice design

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Hi there. Very nice looking, shame no sound. Probably some clear instruction that wood cylinders need to be combined on the desert... to get people started - in game 'cos who reads everything else... Bookmarked for another relook later. Good job!

maloki says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Interesting concept. Map & mechanics is a little confusing at first, but easy to pick up once the momentum starts.

Loving the art on this one. :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

Idea looking promising. But it's hard to understand. And final point isn't clear.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Looks very nice, has a nice "toy" feel to it...

sephyka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Same than Mase "it's an attractive prototype and the controls are interesting". I really like the ergonomy and the simples 3D graphics of your game. Very good.

Wevel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Great idea for a game.

Vandash says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:36am

Impressive

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:02am

This is overall the most innovative game I've seen so far.

Yword says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Really innovative concept and polished graphics! But I think the drag control is not so convenient, maybe just click to select and click again to drop will be better. Well done!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:19am

Super clean game with very good graphics ! It has a good potential. You have to finish it ;)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Great base, but needs more content. Still, I had fun with it. Good controls and I loved the art. Good job!

Markavian says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Very pretty with good view controls, but the merge mechanic was really hard to grasp, especially because of the biome element. I couldn't figure out a use for the ice biome. In the end I stacked up orange cylinders across the world for a score of 74.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:07am

Wow... this is a big one... Cool artwork... nice style. Cool controlls and very well created game mechanics. Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]