Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kit Quack Attack

by ittlebit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well it's playable :D

Each space must be occupied by both the duck and the cat once for the battle to end.

Tools:
Phaser Engine 2.06
Pickle for sprites
BFXR-sound fx
Bosca Ceoil- music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Humor2.80
#375Audio3.00
#404Innovation3.36
#598Graphics3.04
#630Mood2.89
#661Fun2.92
#731Overall3.04
#965Theme2.56
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

nice game, but not sure how it follows the theme

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I like the red on white color design. Cool sounds. Nice art. The duck and the cat are nicely animated. The gameplay mechanics were a little on the light side, it was a bit too simple. I feel like it would have worked better as a series of levels with increasing difficulty containing unique layouts with maybe some obstacles to avoid or maybe teleporter tiles, etc.

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

@pjimmy Thanks! I was thinking that by occupying the same spaces they are connecting their worlds. I agree it is pretty loose.

@BillToWin I agree it begs for real level design and some more variety. Unfortunately it did not really come together as something playable until yesterday when i scrapped about half of my previous idea and it's over-ambitiousness. I also think it could be more interesting as local multiplayer.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Haha, I have no idea if I'm winning, losing, or what! But it's fun to move them about, so you're on the right track with that aspect. But maybe it's just me. I don't understand what the colors mean or what my goal is, but I get the theme tie in of their two worlds being connected. Runs very smoothly and it looks and sounds good!

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

It's a quite challenging game, sometimes I was having a hard time figuring out which way the characters where supposed to move when changing the directions.
Anyway, it's a nice entry, good work!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

nice! just not too sure what the goal is but i had alot of fun playing either way.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

would have played another lvl or ten.

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

Cool little game. Kinda puzzley. Couldn't really figure out why the game was over sometimes though.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

Very interesting game idea. I have never seen anything like it before. Good job! :)

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00am

pretty hard for my little brain but i like the idea and mecanic as well as the graphics, gg :)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Like the music - nice concept. Just need some way to be told it was game over. The game just seems to hang

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:56am

I actually really like the mechanic, I assume you're trying to make all the panels green? Would be really fun with some more, how to put it, "hand-holdy" level design early on. Dosen't convey what you have to do well early on at the mo, although you can't expect much from 48 hours, good job man :)

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Really hard! Very cool graphics and sound though, something wonderfully offbeat about the whole thing.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

That's quite challenging.

psychonull says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Couldn't manage to win but aside from that I liked the idea and the game feels polished.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Hi there. Interesting puzzle, but I found it basically impossible due to need to solve logical problem and arcade one at the same time. Nice smooth movement and decent sounds. Good job!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Loose interpretation of the theme, but nice game regardless.

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice puzzle! Kinda hard, but fun. Loved the art! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]