Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Someone's gotta do it

by Catmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tried to do something a little different, although it still slightly involves space. You play the role of a janitor, maintaining what seems like slightly random things on adjacent planets to the one you live on.

You need money in order to buy food and if you don't get any sleep that's not good for your health either.

How much money can you make? How long can you survive?

You can play W, A, S, D or the arrow keys and use space to interact. Space does need to be pressed multiple times for some interactions, I forgot to mention this in the instructions screen. There are slightly more detailed instructions on the game's menu.


Made with Game Maker Studio, I hope you enjoy! I did intend to actually have environments on the planets and little faces to show if there were lots/few/hardly any jobs to do on each planet but as you may have guessed I ran short of time.


Will be aiming to get a web version up shortly, just I ran it at one point and it was a little screwed up.

Updated exe's with a fix for a crash when growing old and retiring.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Humor3.76
#360Audio3.04
#524Fun3.08
#642Mood2.88
#646Overall3.12
#650Theme3.13
#713Innovation2.96
#734Graphics2.84
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I love how the Janitor is grumbling under his voice whenever you do anything.

I was a little confused at first because he didn't seem to want to perform actions until I figured out where I needed to stand in relation to them.

I didn't realise how lucrative a business chopping down trees to save cats was, I will have to do this in real life!

Super cute stuff, love the little space suit, oh and the Harvest Moon style inventory system!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

another great game :D excellent work! I lasted 9 years! I lived to a ripe old age and I did ok I guess ;) I liked the space bus. I wanted to save up for the train but I accidentally bought chicken when trying to pickup a tool :D

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very funny game. I liked the sound effects, and though the graphics were humorous.

TideS says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

It's fun but didnt like the graphics.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Haha, this is a funny one. I especially like the pixel art graphics and the janitor's grumbling sounds. :D

Sleeping takes a bit too long, and it would be nice if you could interrupt sleeping. (If you keep pressing the arrow keys while sleeping, you can actually sleepwalk, which is great, but I assume it's a bug.)

After a while the tiredness and hunger bars stopped going down, I don't know why. And then the game suddenly ended. Is it possible that the bars weren't updating?

Anyway, I enjoyed playing this game! Well done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:01pm

It was a little tricky getting the janitor to use things sometimes, but the idea is good and has amusing graphics.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great sounds! I played most of my game while sleepwalking which was a bit weird...

dusho says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:57pm

really interesting.. and fun kind of :)
had troubles to trigger the job sometimes.. tricky collisions?

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:25pm

The game was pretty good, I liked the how the janitor grumbled when he was doing something! The collision detection wasn't the best though, sometimes it wouldn't work.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Really liked the idea of the game. Two small issues 1) when playing on widescreen laptop, don't see lower part of game window and cannot make it smaller 2) it is often difficult to predict, where exactly I should stand to interact with particular object.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]