Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Co-Op Swap

by TehSkull - Jam Entry

This game requires 2 players to complete. And due to the limitations of most keyboards, will require at least 1 gamepad. The game was designed and tested with one player on keyboard + mouse, the other on a PS3 controller.

Please ensure that you configure the controls to your needs.

These fellows are in separate worlds that have become connected. But they themselves seem to be intertwined that they can swap places on a whim.

I'm pleased with the concept and the programming on this, mostly, but the level design is definitely lacking on my part, and I apologize. If there is interest for it, I'll make the game longer.

More versions coming soon. Stay tuned.

Tips:
Player 1 has high jumps (press and hold)
Player 2 has incredible air speed.

Swap places with Spacebar. (Or Triangle, as I have it on my controller)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#561Humor(Jam)1.84
#594Theme(Jam)2.59
#608Innovation(Jam)2.59
#654Audio(Jam)1.50
#707Mood(Jam)1.80
#726Overall(Jam)2.57
#733Fun(Jam)2.15
#759Graphics(Jam)1.83

Comments

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

Definitely innovative, I appreciate that. Certainly lacking in the level design department, but it wasn't a big deal. Overall, I really enjoyed the game. Check out mine too if you have the time for it. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42403

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

maybe i am too tired, but hints would have help a lot.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12am

Apologies, Toubib. I kinda slacked on this game. Two of the later challenges require the two players to work in sync, jumping and swapping at appropriate times to complete.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

The graphics could use some polish, but they weren't bad. It was still fun to play! Good luck to you :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14am

Unable to play your game... :/
Can't find an exe file to run.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54am

@Mysterycjgamer It's right inside the .zip

Unless something went wrong with the download.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05am

Sorry, I had tabs for 2 games open, I commented on the wrong game... =w=;;

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57am

little tip.
Screen.lockCursor = true; to lock the cursor
And use Physics Materials to Set bounciness and friction.(unless you coded it to increase speed after a jump)

Also, feel weird to have Q for jump and Space to swap characters... you also need to increase the deadzone for the axis of the controller, because of that, camera would always be constanly panning and the character would always be moving, Most PC games I play don't have this problem, so I'm assuming that 360 controllers are much more loose than PS3. Also, Standard Unity assets, a couple of custom models and textures would have been nice, even if low poly...

Other than that, the concept is pretty innovative and I bet would be fun with a friend.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01am

didint get what the game is about

chas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12am

Great concept. Make a video of you and a friend playing it -- it'll be a lot easier to share down the road.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41am

Maybe you should explain a bit more what is the concept and objectives of the game, at least I could not find out to do but jump

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Quite innovative.
nice going!

Vytheros says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Couldn't get too far as the gamepad controller I have caused it to spin forever. Still like what I managed to get through.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:58am

Hard to play solo. I liked the idea though

TehSkull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:23pm

@vividhelix Believe me, I know. I had to playtest it solo. What a hassle.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:17am

I love co-op games, nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]