Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Or Else They Will Disconnect You (for Oculus Rift)

by Dark Arts and Sciences - Jam Entry

Or Else They Will Disconnect You
for MacOS X and Oculus Rift DK2
by Dark Arts and Sciences

---

An Oculus Rift DK2 is REQUIRED to control this game. It is impossible to move up or down without one, which makes the game playable but not beatable.

The app will run without one, but the WASD/arrows were meant only for debugging and don't work well. I won't refuse your ratings, especially those of you who've ordered a Rift and are still waiting for delivery, but please be forgiving about the controls.

There may be a more playable non-Oculus Rift build soon. Check darkartsandsciences.com for updates.

---

I built a random generator for this theme and it gave me this:

"Connected Bird: This game involves defending your hemispheres from something that wants to integrate it. There are no lands in this game. Where is the sphere of influence? What is the best way to attach a dying black hole and an earth, then what if you weren't supplemental to something fun?"

---

Controls:

Use the Oculus Rift headset to move around.

Press space to move.

Connected spheres are red. Disconnected spheres are blue AND green.

When you touch a sphere, it will disconnect.

When you disconnect a sphere, your own body will split farther apart.

This increases the distance from which you can touch a sphere.

It may have other side effects as well.

---

Known Issues:

Only tested on an Oculus Rift DK2. A DK1 may work too.

I don't know if you can beat level 1 in this build. You have to touch ALL the spheres. It worked at one point. Either I broke it after it worked, or there's a tiny sphere hiding under my chair. If you reach level 2, you're better at my game than I am.

Forgot to include font in build, fixed at hour 73.5, no other changes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#461Humor(Jam)2.23
#534Innovation(Jam)2.77
#580Audio(Jam)2.26
#602Theme(Jam)2.56
#677Mood(Jam)2.32
#689Fun(Jam)2.38
#713Graphics(Jam)2.31
#726Overall(Jam)2.57

Comments

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I don't have occulus rift so, I can't play it... :/

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

#lonelyRift

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Man, I really want an occulus rift now...

Arowx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Got a rift DK1 but on Windows :o(

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Looks a bit weird on a rift, but hey it was fun.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Oculus game o_O

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Awesome! Fit to the theme

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:28am

Nice, love the Oculus!

Code White says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:03am

You have to like the fact that you've gone for probably the least portable platform in existance.

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:40pm

True that. Don't expect too much feedback :/

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:57am

Sadly i haven't an oculus :( but brave idea ^^

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Oculus Rift + MacOS... the idea of the game is interesting, but this is really the first game I ever see that _requires_ Oculus to play, not allows it as an option

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Why make a game for Occulus Rift for Ludum Dare? (Do most people own one?)

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I managed to get it running on a Macbook Air, but performance was unbearably slow when using the DK2 for some reason (like a frame every few seconds).

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:25am

It'd be nice if you could add a video of what the gameplay looks like so people who can't play it can see :)

DarkCart says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Interesting that you built it on Occulus Rift, couldn't play it though :/

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Why make it Oculus Rift only? And why only a mac build? Honestly I think you could have gotten a lot more people playing your game if you added more support.

goerp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:40pm

haha, going for the Niche of niches!
I cant play this. Too bad.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]