Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Arrow Rain

by Maxium - Jam Entry

A game about Bows and Dragons.

Controls:
WASD - Move; Double-tap to dash
Left Mouse Button - Hold to draw bow; release to shoot.
Shift - Sprint

Art - Josiah Goodin (@josiahgoodin)
Programming - Isaac Goodin (@ilgoodi)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#57Fun(Jam)3.74
#96Graphics(Jam)4.17
#176Overall(Jam)3.53
#235Mood(Jam)3.36
#399Humor(Jam)2.38
#470Audio(Jam)2.82
#528Innovation(Jam)2.78
#577Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

Demorro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29am

Pretty fun. I like the way the arrows behave, and having a boss character in there is pretty impressive. Couldn't work out if I was damaging him at all though, I assume so because I got him to fall over at one point.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

nice look. like the low poly style.

jayemjee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31am

It's a little hard to tell that you're hurting a boss. I like the graphics, and the dragon and golem are pretty well-designed.

It's a little hard to get up the tree to do anything.

Robert says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

THESE GRAPHICS O_O. But the controlls are very glitchy(the the 2 bosses). Did i say that i love these graphics !

Transmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Had quite a lot of fun playing it, ended quite abruptly though. But good job.

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33am

Whoa, this is really neat! The first thing I did was shoot an arrow at a bird and to my delight it flew away. Love details like that!

My biggest complaint is that it was hard to tell when I was hitting the bosses. Some kind of obvious hit effect/red flash/sound effect to let you know you're doing damage would have been nice.

Overall great work, it was a fun experience :)

Robert says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33am

THESE GRAPHICS O_O. But the controlls are very glitchy(the the 2 bosses). Did i say that i love these graphics !

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36am

Had some fun with the enemies, but the controls are awkward and the Golem is way too easy compared to the Minotaur in my opinion, but I guess it was because there are only two enemies.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

Pretty short, though I enjoyed the boss fights. The theme seemed a bit forced to me, especially since it was all text-based. I think having some visual feedback to the text would be nice. For instance, if the universe will glow red with fire, why not have some fire all around the map in the end? I think a little bit of additional visual feedback to compliment the text could go a long way.

Overall I enjoyed it, would love to see something like this more fleshed out with more bosses, consequences, etc.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57am

We fixed some things due to feedback and comments, just barely in the knick of time. The golem now makes noise when you hit his weak spot, and a tip appears to make it more clear to aim for it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

This reminds me in spirit of Titan Souls, or Shadow of the Colossus: just bosses. Neat! Maybe an idea worth expanding into a larger project.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

Great job, love the arrow arc. Wish you moved a little waster.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

That low poly art was gorgeous! The spear throwing animation for the Minotaur cracked me up. He ended up glitching out and throwing spears in the opposite direction as my character when I ran into him and right behind him, but it was a lot of fun.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

This is pretty cool. Shooting arrows is fun and I like the graphics. The golem fight was the best, although seeing the Minotaur stuck with 20 arrows was also nice.

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10am

Hahaha it's pretty choppy in a few ways (controls, indication of taking damage) but I thought it was awesome.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22am

Pretty cool game! I loved the art and the sound effects. The bosses were also pretty cool! Overall very nice! :)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

Nice monsters and preety good graphics

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Really good graphic, especially dragon!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Cool gameplay and very nice creatures animation. Great work!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Yup, definitely keeping this on my hard drive. The artwork looks great and the arrow mechanics are fantastic. Really great work on this project. Wish there were more bosses to fight, or even some grunts around the map. Would definitely support a full version.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice art style and very fun to play. The second boss was kinda easier to kill. And I fucking knew it! You can trust dragons!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:07am

wow. Great game, and great graphics. For 48 hours, this is freakin sweet!!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13am

Enjoyed playing your game. I liked the low poly look of everything. All those spears the Minotaur was throwing freaked me out at first XD

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14am

Controls are a little rough, but the combat is still pretty fun. Also, I really love the low poly graphics and animations. Nice ending lol.

dhargan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:54pm

I don't understand the connection with the theme. great game tho, good job :D

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Ambitious idea, and decent enough. Collision seemed a bit off in places, specially trying to hit the Golem's eye? And a bit more feedback for when you successfully hit would be nice. Pretty lofty goal and reasonably well executed though, congrats!

paps says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Good game, nice poly graphics, I would have want a bg music during the boss fight to add more tension. And that minotaur is way harder than first boss, I jumped on my chair when he charged me.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

Love that low poly faceted look, and the feel of the bow (controls, animation, physics and audio combined) is great. While not perfect, the boss behaviors were decent too. A little more feedback on whether a boss hit was successful would be good. Overall, I liked what is there, but I think you could have got more mileage by having a level or three with lots of smaller enemies to shoot, followed by the boss. I'd also reverse the order of the bosses, since the attack sequence required to beat the Minotaur seems less complex (just shoot it anywhere ?) compared with the Golem.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:27am

This was a great 3D romp in a fantasy world. I liked the dragon a lot. Very clean, and well made FPS.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Very ambitious :)
I like that you can shoot the birds and they react, and the general physics of shooting. The actual hit feedback is a little weak - would be cool if there were a hit effect, and maybe a slight flash or something on contact with an enemy. I was disappointed that I couldn't really see arrows sticking out of the targets!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Hi there. Great! First archery game played. Love archery IRL so this was good fun. Killed both and reached end... would love to see more of this game! Nice intuitive aim and move/dodge/sprint. Good sounds. Great job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I really liked the graphical style and the bow mechanics. The animations were pretty impressive for a jam. Nicely done!

eastes says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:35pm

reddit sent me! Great game. I love low poly.

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice work. I thought the camera felt a little low to the ground which made it tricky to navigate portions or the world with any sort of rise to them (like the spiral tree). It's interesting that you put the golem second when its combat mechanic seemed a bit more complex than the minotaur, but I liked the minotaur's attack. Something that could help would be some audio or visual feedback for getting hit, as it took me a long time to notice the hearts. My favorite thing was the bubble effect, it was stylized and felt kind of great.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:21am

Wow, I loved the "Zelda - Ocarina of Time" memories the first scene brought me. The visuals were great, however I find the controls very challenging to master and I was not hitting anything with my arrows. Good game!

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Awesome low-poly style! We used it in our game as well, so much fun to play with :) Love boss battles as well; everyone likes a good boss battle!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice graphics! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:45am

Quite fun, It has a very abrupt ending, but it was a quite pleasant experience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]