Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Level 1 Dentistry for Tooth Faeries

by garygreen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Tooth Faerie spends the night time collecting teeth, but decides to take up dentistry in the daylight hours as well. Connected by a love of teeth the dental and tooth faerie worlds come together in a battle against cavities.

Use your mouse to move around the screen collecting nice white teeth from the floating heads and avoid the bad teeth. Keep going until you run out of teeth to collect or you collide with too many nasty cavities. Click on [ Start ] & [ Continue ] in the game to move to the next section.

I'm planning to update this after the comp is over and give it a bit of variety, including some ideas I didn't have time to put in.

Made with Processing (converted into self-extracting/runnable jar thanks to the very handy SVGExe tool by Kevin Workman), and Caustic for music and bfxr for sound effects.

Edit: Android port also included - this port doesn't contain any audio, but the Java version does.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#273Humor2.83
#346Audio3.06
#788Mood2.73
#986Graphics2.38
#991Fun2.51
#1010Overall2.70
#1014Theme2.44
#1071Innovation2.34

Comments

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Neat avoider game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Simple but fun, but not very challenging

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really liked the music and sound effects! Thought you did a good job with how the fairy flew. Would be cool to be able to interact with the floating suitcases in some way.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03pm

windows.jar file doesn't load

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

+1 for Android

miwuc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Good start for a simple avoiding game. Too bad all the levels are basically identical, so it gets old very quickly. The floating texts are quite funny, but I had to look at the source code to read them, they're moving too quickly in the game :) I really like the visual effect when you pick up a tooth.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25pm

The backstory idea is pretty cool! Controls are a bit weird though...

garygreen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Thanks for the constructive comments so far - all appreciated. :-) They'll all help me to improve it. Re The windows jar file not loading, I had that problem when I tried to run it from a Dropbox folder on my PC, but everywhere else it's fine.

garygreen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Forgot to say I guess my floating sleeping heads weren't that obvious. :-D although I like the idea of including floating suitcases in some way now... not sure how though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

Aww that was fun.
Never seen tooth fairys in games before!
Good job.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:54am

I definitely thought those were suitcases! XD But it was a bit of simple functional avoidance!

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice entry, well done.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I like the random mumblings of the sleeping people :D

rRootagea says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:53am

Interesting premise

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]