Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Quest of Untitled

by firstbass - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move with WASD or Arrow keys. Z and C to select charcters: certain characters get certain responses. X to interact.
"Connected Worlds" has been interpreted in a social sense.
Doesn't make too much sense, and code is highly unoptimized.
Thanks to Eme for encouraging me on this. Thanks to my amazing person as well for being patient and cheerful with me.
Made in lua with http://love2d.org
Thank you very much, love developers!
A build for windows is supplied - a .love for linux and Mac OS X has been provided.
Game and source are provided entirely free - if you use it in your games, I don't care. Only file that may not be subject to this is Inconsolata.otf. Still, enjoy! I had a lot of fun developing this.
Thanks for taking the time to even look at this game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#817Mood2.69
#819Graphics2.69
#1071Fun2.33
#1083Innovation2.31
#1119Theme2.13
#1149Overall2.39
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49am

Why you no Mac?

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

Cool simple game. I only wished movement was faster! Thanks.

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40am

Mac works - as I don't possess the skills to make a proper .app, please retrieve the mac love executable at http://love2d.org, and then drag the love file (listed under Linux) onto the love.app. Should run fine!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

I like the style!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51am

y u so slow?

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58am

Wow. This is incredibly frustrating -- can't really move the guy well, and the screen is so tiny! -- also... what's this "love.exe" thing you included?

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

My biggest problem with it isn't really the movement speed, it's a bit inconvenient to be sure, but my biggest issue is the two interaction buttons. X to start a conversation, but F to end it. Is there a particular reason for this function?

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

@BrainSlugs83 Whoops! Love.exe was included on accident, it's what I used to make the executable - it is safe to delete. I promise it does nothing bad, it's the default love.exe included at love2d.org. Sorry you didn't enjoy it so well, but thanks for even trying it out! I didn't have time to figure out how to set the graphics to scale - this is my first coded game - and we're stuck at the lowly 360x360 resolution. Sorry! @Kain.Oborin - The reason for this function is that as I was debugging, sometimes X would go too fast and stop the dialog box before you could even read it. Swapping characters is also two keys for this reason. I could have handled a LOT of aspects to this program more gracefully, but as I started this on Saturday night rather than Friday, I didn't have much time for debugging these problems.
The speed is so slow because if it is set any higher, graphical glitches may occur. Although this may not be true any more, I believe I did fix that aspect of the code. Sorry for all the inconveniences, I will keep these in mind for the next Dare. Thanks for playing this game!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

ha, I don't really get what was going on, but the dialogue was kinda funny. finding the third gem was a wtf moment for me.
Also, like the others said, the movement really needs improvement

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06am

Movement's a bit sluggish. Was there any purpose to the character-swapping other than the altered dialogue?

firstbass says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Not really, I sadly didn't have much time to flesh it all out, since I started late.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

As stated by others, my big complaint is the unresponsive movement (perhaps a consistent slow speed rather then an occasional fast "hop"). I feel like this could have been pretty nice just given some more time to flesh it out.

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very squinty screen mode for 1080p users :D Oldschool and minimalistic, I really like the style of the graphics.
Also the game has a very creepy mood, which I like!

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:10am

I actually enjoy the graphics. Just so tiny and detailed! I like how one gets the friendly dialogue but one got the lousy dialogue.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]