Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Can you hear me Major Tom?

by franciscotufro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Graphics3.50
#327Audio3.11
#364Mood3.22
#677Innovation3.00
#934Theme2.63
#1010Overall2.70
#1096Fun2.26
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

Not really sure what was going on, but I was intrigued! Love the background music and particle effects.

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

It's a bit slow, with the goal of the game not being too obvious. I didn't know what my actions were achieving was my main issue.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

Very cool graphics and mysterious mood you set. It was really cool to see the planet grow over time

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Sorry I haven't been able to add instructions until now, I'll see what I can do... Thanks!

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Definitely not clear on what to do. Nice graphical style and audio.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Cool graphics and atmosphere. I couldn't really know what was going on :(

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28pm

One of the few games that make you go uhuh and just like what you see without knowing what is going on whehe. Looks good. Sound is good. It takes a moment to figure out but yeah. like

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

So, now I have time. I'm sorry I haven't been able to post instructions. The idea is that human kind is evil, and if they get in contact with alien races the universe will collapse, so you have to avoid humans getting in touch with alien races. There are emissions from earth (radio broadcasts, space missions, and space garbage) that may get spotted by Aliens (through their reckon ships, radio telescopes and tripulated ships). You avoid that through the scarse tools I've been able to implement during the weekend. Noise generators destroy radio emissions, decoys attract aliens and you can use them to confuse them, and smart bombs destroy everything in a range.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Garbage collectors and solar panels give you matter and energy that you'll need to create and maintain the other tools. The garbage collector is a little buggy, but all in all working, sorry I haven't been able to put much more than the game logic in this build. For next LD I'm choosing a much smaller scope! hehe.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Hi there... Got to 'end' full contact, but 'click to restart' displayed for a frame or two, as I was clicking like crazy it reset game... suggest you have confirmation dialog or keyboard input for that! Nice mood... Kardashev scale ?

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice effects, nice mood, but don't know what to do and why.

Rialgar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I can not win this, can I?

Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:51pm

This is a survival mode. You don't win, just last longer. :)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:49am

After reading what the game was about I understand the concept. It was pretty fun but can get boring while you wait for things to happen (the time fast-forwarding is a great feature!)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]