Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intersection

by Domantas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My rushed-buggy-boring-terrible entry to this Ludum Dare!
(Requires .Net and XNA to run, second version is ported to use Mono, so it should run without XNA)

In post compo some bugs are fixed.

Two worlds intersected, and weird creatures are going to invade. It's time to go and kill some monsters.

Controls:
Arrows - moving
X - shooting (when you get pistol)
C - change world (when standing in that portal thingy)
R - suicide (if you get stuck)

I didn't have an idea how to make checkpoints in this mess of code, so let's call this game a roguelike.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Fun4.00
#73Overall3.83
#104Mood3.65
#144Theme3.81
#201Graphics3.73
#407Audio2.95
#446Innovation3.30
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26pm

That was really fun - would have loved more content!

I liked the clever use of the world flipping to manipulate enemies and objects. Nice touch with the boss at the end :)

Also loved the pixel art, and the small details like particles when landing on grass.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

In this kind of stuff it's really perfect, everything work together, only the clouds are too random, and not enought shaped.

The switch is classical now but really efficient, and nice looking. The level design is pretty efficient bothing too hard but it lacks of checkpoint that's one of the main issue of this kind of game.

I found a trap in the level design when you get the gun, you can jump and reach a grey part, where you can't die (if you kill the monsters. I had to restart the application.

Great job, well polished. I'm jealous ;)

Domantas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Thanks for reviewing, glad you liked it! At some point I got reeeeaaaally lazy so that's why level is too short and checkpoints were not done. Maybe I this will motivate me to work more in next LD. Also, I thought I suck at art :D

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Wow, those particle effects really added to the game! Naa, you don't really suck on art. I wouldn't say that.
Also, I love the animation when you switch the worlds.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Great idea. Solid execution. The world transition effect looked amazing. The pixel art isn't expert level by any means but don't sell yourself short. It gets the job done and was perfect for this kind of LD game. A+

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Playability is strong with this one! Nice graphics. And it's quite hard. Have my vote. A good one.

hungyg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Particle effects are always really cool. Gj!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11pm

This is a seriously large amount of world and gameplay for a 48 hour entry, you undersold it. The gameplay is fun and it's really satisfying to switch worlds and solve a puzzle. Reminds me of Fezz, with a twist.

Unfortunately the boss oneshotted me and I didn't feel like climbing back up again. A checkpoint would be nice. Highest rating yet out of maybe 12 games.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Really smooth. The particle effects and transitions were done really well.

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Someone got inspired by Fez it seams ;-)

Cool use of the theme and cool graphics!

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Best game I have played so far of all the 48 hour dares.
Love the concept and it works like a charm. Good solid graphics and decent sound. And you actually have working gameplay that is entertaining to me and matches the theme perfectly. I replayed a couple times, so awesome job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Chrome seems to tag the second link as malicious and won't permit downloads.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Love it. Did a good job with the Fez style perspective. Some checkpoints would be nice though.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:55am

I love this game, One of the best I have seen in the compos. I know that the idea with the 2D-3D flipping is not new - we have seen it in FEZ - but it suits your game nicely and you have created it nicely! I love the sounds, they make incredible atmosphere with the graphics! Only thing which was missing was low muzak in the background. :)

swich says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Hands down one of the most enjoyable games from the compo. I also loved the graphics and particle fx. But yeah, checkpoints would really help :)

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Tight controls, quality work!

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:48pm

It's kind of a drag to start from the beginning when you die. It has some nice puzzling elements with the help of the purple portal gimmick.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]