Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cargo Corp.

by TinyHat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey everyone,

In Cargo Corp., you control a spaceship using the [arrow keys].

You goal is to deliver packages from one planet to another. The planetary system you are in is randomly generated at the beginning of each game.

- If you have collected fuel, you can use the [spacebar] to use your boost.

- If you have collected ammo, use [z] to fire your guns to get rid of dangerous meteors.

You can also collect other objects, but I'd rather keep those secret, in order not to spoil you :)

Using chrome is highly recommanded, as the game has only been tested on this browser. It should nevertheless run on any modern browser.

This is a highscore game, so don't hesitate to post your score to compete with others!

Enjoy!

-TinyHat

---

The game was made using Construct 2, you can download the project file if you wish to see how. I also used Photoshop, FLStudio and Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Audio3.57
#143Fun3.61
#218Overall3.57
#357Graphics3.43
#446Mood3.12
#455Theme3.39
#463Humor2.47
#944Innovation2.61
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Very nice game. I just only had a sound problem (too loud!).

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Pretty good realisation, and i liked the graphics and music. The gameplay can be tuned up a little)

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

It looks cool but, where is the source code? It is required for compo entries.

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I had more fun with this than I thought I would. Where is the source code? It is required for compo entries.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00pm

The source was added, thank you!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Decent gameplay. Tricky to avoid those fire balls.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I enjoyed this game! I felt good to break meteors. My best score is 87.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Enjoyed playing this one. Overall nicely polished game.
Good job!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Wow, this is seriously addictive! The controls and the turning speed are just right to make it challenging but fun. The music is ace too. Will play this again.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Ha - we had similar ideas! Well, conceptually! I wish I thought of adding lines to make the "connected worlds" theme more obvious.

I thought the controls were great too - at first you're like, WAT?! Then when you get it it feel really good. I think this could be polised up into a great game - lots of pickups, lots of particle effects == awesome!

TowelKing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I had a lot of fun playing the game. The controls were pretty sensitive, but I actually like that in games.

CogComp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Highly addictive game. Great work! I really love the music!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Very enjoyable and solid! The controls feel good and the laser bullets have a nice impact to them; generally a very fun game. :)

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

simple idea but relly fun. the powerups and the ship controls make the game special and the music is the icing on the cake!

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Nice graphics, and audio, I like how level is random generated each time. And that boost... wow! :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Hi there. Like the look and feel, the way the spaceship moves is great. The music track is also terrific. Managed to get score of 23 after doing about 6 'quests'/deliveries. Great to see Construct2 again! Good job!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Very solid game. Quality graphics and addictive gameplay. Good work!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice job, controls of ship were good, though with the fast powerup... not so much.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]