Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ecosystem

by hirsch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

4 Islands
4 Animals
Rabbits, Lions
Lemmings, Zebras

Move the islands and
keep them all alive!


HTML5 JavaScript game written in Go

==SPOILER==

Rabbits (Brown):
Food: -3 Grass a day
Fat: +2 Fat a day
Children: 1 a day; chance based on vegetation level

Lions (Yellow):
Food: Rabbits or Zebras
Fat: +2 per Meal
Children: If fat > 12

Lemmings (Orange):
Food: none
Fat: none
Children: 3 a day
Death: Suicide

Zebras (Grey):
Food: -2 Grass a day
Fat: +1 a day
Children: 1 a day; chance based on vegetation level

Islands (Green/Yellow):
Grass: +10 a day

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Innovation3.88
#262Theme3.66
#819Humor1.94
#880Overall2.88
#947Audio1.69
#1008Fun2.48
#1072Mood2.16
#1106Graphics2.13
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

Great idea! Wish it would be a bit clearer which is which

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Pretty new idea (at least to me). I found it a bit hard to navigate the islands and distinguish the animals (besides obviously the lions).

But all in all an enjoyable game. I never survived very long though :-(

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Interesting concept. Some more developed visuals to tell the animals apart and determine what's going on would help a ton.

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

while the graphics are to minimalistic (in a bad way), the audio, the humor and the mood is non existent. The game is realy, but realy good! I like it very much! It should evaluate evolution somewhat and it would be even better.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Pretty interesting puzzle/management game. A bit weird though that losing one of the species is not a fail condition. As it is now it's pretty easy to survive if you connect everything except the lions island.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I like the idea, but was tough to distinguish which animals were which.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Interesting idea.

The interface is kind of so-so though, and the graphics leave something to be desired.

I like the take on the theme though.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Lovely colors! Good innovative idea. I love simple stuff with simple controls! Some ingame guidance (UI) and menus would have been good and maybe some ambient music. This could turn out to be a pretty nice time killer that keeps the brain active.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Interesting game. Could be a bit more intuitive but an enjoyable game.

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool and original idea, especially with the round islands. My rabbits got a bit suicidal though and just walked into the ocean :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

It's very simplified and I like it. Could use menus though and some indicators but the general concept is there.

Also, why are there Lemmings in this game?

Keep up the good work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:54am

Fun game, just needs a bit of audio and some more clarity on which species is which. nice job!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18am

Noooo my zebras nooo!? :D

Btw I did read the spoiler but still had problems distinguishing the animals...

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49am

great use of the theme! the graphics were very clean. I wish the gameplay interactions were more clearly communicated ingame!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47am

Very nice idea, too bad there is no real goal.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

Brilliant take on the theme and nice innovation. I love minimalistic games, kind of looks like my game, but there needs to me a clearer instruction on what's what. Challening too which I like! Well done.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Hi there. Looks like an interesting starting point, got the 'animals' to cross between islands/ecosystems, but nothing much else seems to be possible. Nice clean interface. Shame no sounds. Good job!

JaJ says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:55am

It's a great take on the theme but also the genre. I could actually see this being a big game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]