Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wifimon

by Morusque - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#8Innovation4.36
#84Humor3.42
#295Fun3.37
#301Theme3.59
#402Overall3.35
#420Mood3.15
#695Graphics2.89
#848Audio2.11

Comments

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

GOD! As you said, hard to compete with an android game on Ludum Dare, but please, everyone! GIVE THIS ONE A TRY. It's a complety new gaming expierence and shows the fun and potential of this concept. And catching "wifimon" is always a good catchphrase! VERY GOOD JOB! Love it!

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

Great idea! Combat could have been a bit more interesting, but the healing mechanic and use of wifi to generate monsters is really neat. Would love to see the idea expanded/improved.

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

The idea is cool, but the graphics and arn't so good. Maby make a map or something like that.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:00pm

can't play it, not compatiable

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Good work!

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Incredible idea, I hope you'll continue developing this because I'll be looking out for it :) I'll keep this version in the meantime.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Awesome game. The idea is neat, looking forward for the complete piece! Good job Morusque!

Fernando says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

Very cool idea! Can't wait for a complete android version!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Well this is something else!
Amazingly strange and fun thing to play.

I gotta try this when in a train :p

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Though I haven't played this one, it looks provide some novel interactions that can hardly be done on PC.

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

This is actually a very good concept. And it could be improved in lots ways. Nicely done, it's very cool what you did there. I guess that's exactly what "thinking outside the box" means :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Well, this is novel. Definitely worth checking out if you have a droid.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

The idea seems great, i will try it but here in Nature not enough wifi hotspot! ;)

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

This is hilarious. I love it.

cstudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09pm

The comments are true, the game is great. One of the most innovative on #LD30 so far. Good luck winning! (Also all my neighbours wifis are dead) :D

Majko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Interesting idea.

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The healing mechanic is great. The catching not, it always just said "timed out". The fights are boring, since I always just kill the other Wifimon.
But a great idea non the less!

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

The seems to be a bug when healing. It's not dangerous since it's only graphical:
The signal strength bar sometimes switches side and goes upwards through the text.

Morusque says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Hey, thanks everyone who took the time to install the game !
about the map > yes, I suppose a GPS based map could make sense
about the catching > You have to catch them when they have almost no life left.
about the healing bug > That's interesting. It might be due to the network reception having positive values, which I didn't think was possible since it's measured in decibels.
The fights are boring > Agree, as I said in a blog post I wish I didn't lose so much time on technical difficulties and spend it on these aspects instead. I'm still considering going on with the development of the game, not sure yet.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Unfortunately, I could only find one Wifimon and I could not find what to do with the game...

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

This is an interesting concept...
It had me running around the house trying to get close to WiFi sources...

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:29am

Sorry, no Android.

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Very innovative! I absolutely love this idea I hope you develop this further!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice entry.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:54am

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen, good thing I've got an Android phone! I've seen artists use wifi before but never a game, reminds me of the old monster rancher games where you'd scan other discs to generate them. Very cool :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]