Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boys From the Dwarf

by Angelbait - Jam Entry

BFD is our first ever LD Jam and we're proud of the little monster we made!

As a team of three Canadians we set out to make our worlds connect in a top down space exploration/terraforming game with grandeur's of an RTS overtone. Its taken a lot of patience and dedication to get BFD to where it is and we will continue to improve on the experience as we all have taken a liking to the core game. BFD was another learning experience for each of us: Chewie decided "Fuck it, nows the perfect time to re-learn a language.", Earp battled the audio landscape that is space, and I decided to draw/paint a species of hair people...

We're all excited to get our hands on the next LD already but first a few days rest and gaming/rating!

Thanks for trying our game if you do, and if you liked/disliked something we have going on shoot us a comment.

Peace for now!

Sincerely:
Chewie,
Earp
&
Angelbait

PS: at the moment there is no "Endgame" so its just about floating around trying to steal planets from a hairy space tupee...

And the controls are in GIF form in the screen shots!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#568Humor(Jam)1.80
#602Mood(Jam)2.65
#606Theme(Jam)2.54
#615Graphics(Jam)2.79
#701Innovation(Jam)2.25
#738Overall(Jam)2.52
#744Fun(Jam)2.08
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

Nice mood and promising graphic style!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

I stole me some planets from hair people, 11/10.

Really, nice work for a first Dare! The ship art is great, there's some good dissonance to the space music, and it's not too hard to figure out. An endgame would have been nice, but even without, 'tis a fun game.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

The music + the fact that it was a top-down space game were my favorite parts. I'm guessing the building doesn't work and there is no way to attack or enemies yet? One thing I think you should consider adding is a map/minimap or guides to the nearest planet. It's easy to get lost.

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29am

Nice game. You should add a minimap or something in that direction, as i got lost and never found back. Also a short how to play with controls would have been nice.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:33am

Nice work. I liked the art style and the audio, it set the mood well. Didn't seem like there was too much to do though.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37am

I found a... moth thing on a planet, then scared it away? It looks cool but I have no idea what is going on. When I build things, nothing happens?

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:38am

Needs more content, and some more...fun things.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30pm

It was a little slow to me, but I liked the premise of the game.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Hi there. The look and 'strategy' approach are great. Shame not much to do. Good starting point!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Cool art and music! :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:55am

super simple, though I like the mood. The graphics and music supplement each other well. Good luck on your game making.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]