Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WorldLine

by Jellycakes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=BEFORE PLAYING=
The Web Version takes a long time to load, so I suggest downloading the standalone (for your platform).
================

You will be presented with a Phone.

Use the Phone to Travel.

You may need a Pen and Paper for this experience.

Good Luck.


---------------------------------------------------
Made in 48 hours

Had to cut a lot of things out because of time restraints.

Decided to focus less on gameplay and more on Art/Polish this time round. I think I did okay.

With thanks to:
-Andrew
-Nick
-Dillon
-Jicken
-Brandon
-Thomas
-Tau

Known Bugs:
Pausing when inputting a phone number will cause the cursor to not become available. To fix this, quit the game and relaunch.

=IMPORTANT NOTICE=
There are more than 2 worlds, and there is a screen you reach to say that you finished the game.
==================
=IF YOU ARE STUCK=
Remember that all phone numbers are 6 Numbers Long. Everything you need to find the number you need to progress is in the world you are currently in. You can travel to any world from any phone booth.
==================
=IF YOU REALLY NEED HELP=
These hints contain potential spoilers. Use at last resort.
http://pastebin.com/SK2UQCKr
=========================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#41Theme4.07
#49Mood3.88
#97Innovation3.89
#122Audio3.56
#139Overall3.70
#218Graphics3.67
#299Fun3.36
#471Humor2.46

Comments

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Wanted to try the windows part out but after downloading it, my antivirus deleted it.. you should scan your computer :P

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I really enjoyed this game!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I would like to replace phone with PoilceBox and add more locations then this would be perfect game

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Is the boat number supossed to do nothing? Only one trip to away and home? Or am I missing something?

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

To other players: There are more than 2 levels...
To the Dev: I hate you. I hate how great this game is and that you're going to make more of it and make money... Seriously though, great work. Nailed it!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I'm really liking the game, but I'm having trouble discerning the significance of the number on the boat. I'm just kind of bouncing between the worlds lost. I've tried entering in the number, adding it, subtracting it, and multiplying it with the other numbers. I'm not really sure what I'm missing.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I'm really liking the game, but I'm having trouble discerning the significance of the number on the boat. I'm just kind of bouncing between the worlds lost. I've tried entering in the number, adding it, subtracting it, and multiplying it with the other numbers. I'm not really sure what I'm missing. I even tried counting the stars and adding that number. I guess I'm too dumb.

Lycaon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

I like it! Very atmospheric.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

I've updated my description. For anyone who is stuck, remember that if you are taking it to the point where you are multiplying numbers with numbers from previous worlds, you are really overthinking.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20am

I love this. The atmosphere and music is lovely, and I love interacting with physical things like the phone in games. Great entry!

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29am

I'm very proud I got past the ice level, but the next one completely baffles me, unless it's supposed to end there.

Sweet game with very high production value, it made me feel smart.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

Cool concept. The worlds were unique and interesting. A little hard to remember all the numbers.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

I really love the atmosphere. Using the phone to travel to other worlds gave it a magic-realist Myst vibe. I got stuck in the floating island level with the pine trees and rocks. I found three two-digit numbers and tried entering them in different orders but couldn't figure it out. This isn't a knock against the game - you've managed to intrigue me enough that I'll probably keep going back to it until I've figured it out (or find the answer online if I get too frustrated). You might try adding some subtle hints (maybe there were some, but they were too subtle for my brain).

Anyways, great job on a fine entry! I hope you keep adding to it post-compo.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

I recently updated the description (again)containing hints, only use these if you are honest to god stuck. The hints do not contain numbers, so if you've found them all it's probably not worth going into the hints to figure out the order.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07pm

nice bgm

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Wow, that's really cool! I like your skyboxes. Did you use vertex paint?

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

@villhest Yes I did. I was trying to go for Spyro type skyboxes :)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Amazing concept. I wish I could walk the worlds and searching for the numbers, type them on the phone and jump to another worlds...

McFood says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I do think the third level is a little too difficult. Even with the hint you had to go the right way and be looking in the right direction.
Aside from that, everything was excellent. Great puzzles, the ambient sound made for a brilliant mood in the different lcoations, great graphics. Most of all, I really liked the application of the theme, the phone connecting worlds was unique and intriguing.
Great Job!

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Fantastic idea! I really like the concept of typing in numbers to take you to a specific place. I think if this was to go further, it could start branching out so each level might have several codes that take you further into new worlds, and maybe there could also be secret worlds that aren't recorded, but typing them in would lead there. I have to admit that the last level got me stuck for some reason, I kept thinking it was alphabet-to-numeric - so yawA = 251231 or something along those lines, but the real answer was actually really clever!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03pm

EL Psy Congroo?

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

@McFood Yeah I've been told many times that the third level is potentially the trickiest. You either get it immediately or it takes ages.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Fantastic!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Wow, that took forever to load, stuck with it cos the concept was really interesting. It was worth the wait!
The theme is spot on, the telephone connected the world when it was invented.
I would have liked to use the number pad on my keyboard to dial and not loving the skybox but otherwise a brilliant game. Played it all the way till the end but I did use some of the hints ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

I really like the world phone idea, and the confidently low-poly gouraudy look! The whole scavenger hunt thing appeals less, but 48 hours is 48 hours and there's only so much time for clever.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40pm

the mood and look, and sound of this game were really great. Walking around looking for numbers isn't intirely my thing, but the atmosphere kept me playing longer than I normally would have.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Who knew dialing a phone could be so much fun.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:04am

I love the strange dreamlike atmosphere you've created in this game. Especially in the first room.
I couldn't get past the floating islands level either, even with the hint.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Cool game. Using pen and paper was fun. Spot on with the theme.

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

leafarz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:10pm

got dizzy after the icy part sorry. though i wanted to finish the game haha.
but you made a really great game and a very clean one too. pretty polished.
first is, great animations especially when you press the number on the phone!
second is i also liked the bobbing of the camera lol :D
and third one are the visuals especially the models and also the transition between the screens! not an artist here so those models for me were already awesome for an LD entry!
also liked the ambient music here. pretty subtle but great!
good job guys and keep it up! :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Hi there. Got three levels in and bookmarked for another longer look later. Nice audio, graphics and hiding. Good job!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Great entry, very atmospheric. I got inmersed in the look for clues to find the phone code. I got to the floating islands and got 4 numbers...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]