Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stellation

by atomic_swerve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stellation is an MMO. Made in 48 hours. For serious.

Use the mouse to guide your light around the play area, and interact with other people from around the world! Travel to the edges of the screen to change colour, and form bonds with those closest to you.

I recommend putting on your own soundtrack, something ambient and chill, if you're going to play this for more than a just the minute or so to rate. The experience is improved quite a lot!

This is my first attempt at any game networking, as in, I started learning it when the 48-hour challenge started. The server should be able to hold up to 5000 players, but you may see performance issues on your machine before it reaches that point!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.56
#14Innovation4.27
#53Overall3.88
#195Fun3.53
#218Graphics3.67
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

It's quite hard to get to know the controls and what's actually happening. But most innovative game I've played so far :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

I wish I could see how this plays with more than one other person playing.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

5 stars all around! This is the best implementation of connected worlds I've seen so far. Also a very cool idea in general! Amazing!

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

@masamunedragon you and me both! Despite room for 5000, I've only seen up to 10 people on during the "stress test" :(

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

2 starts, Nice to meet you, stranger.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25am

A fantastic idea, I think I'll leave it running and see who turns up.

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18am

Good job !!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14am

Sat on waiting for about 10 minutes before a couple of people joined. It was interesting, but it really needs more than three people to get the experience, I think. Especially when one person just sits there. Eventually a fourth joined, at that was pretty fun. What you can communicate with just a ball of light surprised me.

I think it might be a good idea to put some bots on it or something, so we can see more than just our own cursor if nobody else is playing. I don't know if that would be considered cheating, since you wouldn't have to actually modify the game code, and it would give people more of a chance to play your game (like the porting rule). Just a thought.

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

5 Stars for everything except audio and humor. So cool!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Nice little experiment

atomic_swerve says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:11am

Alright guys, I had to take the server down due to ridonk costs and no-one playing. Sorry, but the game won't work anymore!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very relaxing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]