Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnecting Worlds

by Macocco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about crossing a border. Made for the LD48 competition.
Controls are explained in the game but I'll put them here anyways:
+Move/navigate the menu with the arrow keys.
+Jump/select a menu point with space.
+Talk with 'T'

If you are wondering why the player sprite is flickering when walking to the right, I don't know either.
I'm open for questions on twitter @MarcoSpiess.
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#105Theme3.88
#134Mood3.58
#248Overall3.54
#268Humor2.84
#405Fun3.22
#663Graphics2.94
#704Innovation2.97
#729Audio2.37

Comments

kewry says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

I loved what you did with the theme, it was really well thought out, and the game plays really well. The dialogues are fun to read but too small in font size. Could use a bit of tinkering in the wall jumping and sliding, they seem too weak or too strong, as I spend a while trying to get up a wall only to fling back down thanks to the sliding

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37am

Really cool usage of the theme, too bad there wasn't an ending, the story got really interesting towards the end.

I felt the game was little too small, it could have been like twice bigger so it would have been easier to play and easier to read the tiny text.

Zekronz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Really nice game! You should probably make the wall jumping a little bit easier :D <3

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Nice game, really creative and great artwork.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Small game, but it was fun. Good job!

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very neat use of the theme. Wall jumping was a little tough to do I thought. Great style to the game.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very good game, it gets harder and harder, and very good for this theme :D

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

The resolution was quite low (for me atleast), but besides that there are some cool ideas in this game !

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

This was a fantastic game, really fun and challenging. The text was to small though.

reheated says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

It's great! I liked how all the platforming was done on "one" screen that kept changing. Pretty tough towards the end!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice! Controls are a bit slidey for my taste, but not horribly so. Classic weird laser guard dystopia, trying to stop kids smuggling cake and letters.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

To all the people complaining about the size of the game/font: You know that you can switch on fullscreen in the main menu, right?

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46am

Great style and story, but the controls were ridiculously cumbersome, especially towards the end.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

That was pretty fun, but once there were too many guards I wasn't good enough to make it past the border anymore XD.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35am

That was very challenging, controls felt too slippery and loose for me, I'd wall jump up over something and then land up on a platform and slide all the way across it. The story was well done though, and I enjoyed the concept!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:19am

good job love the graphical style and gameplay! You should be proud of this one.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great artwork. That gradient background really makes mood.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19am

I loved that the obstacles between the two areas built up over time - original take on the theme and platformers in general. Controls were a little slippery, but great entry overall :)

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

A wonderful and terrible game at the same time. I think it was wonderful. A little to hard (but I really wanted to get to the end). The biggest complaint I have is that the text way to small. Some music would have increased the mood even more. Great work!

Aglavra says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I really liked your approach to the theme and the style of the game. It would be nice if the screen would be two times bigger, because it is a bit difficult ro play and read text. The game in the end becomes too difficult because of jumping and sliding mechanics.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Super nice game. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:41pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]