Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save the Earth

by Bemmu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left and right arrow to rotate, space to shoot.

Strange worlds are intruding into our own. Earth has been turned into a giant weapon to fight against the intruders.

Just made this to learn D3.js.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#573Humor2.29
#689Fun2.89
#798Audio2.21
#833Innovation2.79
#868Graphics2.60
#970Overall2.77
#982Mood2.43
#1105Theme2.18
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Zer0XoL says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Interesting idea!

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Yay I saved the earth! :D
Nice concept ;)

Roknsk says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Fun. I died once on clean screen, bug I guess.

oggyiu says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:31pm

auto fire make the game so easy

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Very innovative :) But when I press SPACE while the text is shown, it fires the black balls anyway.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

Great game, I found the best strategy was to bore a whole into the sun and then spin.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

Liked the concept, would like to see more levels.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

This game was very simple but yes quiet fun. Thank you for this game!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

A nice start, but a bit unfinished. You can still fire in the start screen, and I replayed a few times and never once failed to save the earth by just holding down one arrow key and the fire button so I spun around spewing bullets.

Spinning around spewing bullets is always fun though :)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

A bit simple but I liked the color mix between the planets. Two bad the earth is not in the same type of graphics.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Interesting concept but kinda lacking in depth

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Cute, very simple but kinda fun.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:16am

Nice little game. Very clean and simple and you get to save the earth (or not).

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

I like the earth death sound.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Pretty neat!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

"That's no moon!" XD Really original! :D Great game! :D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Yaay, I saved the Earth~! Now I'd normally wonder how it'll sustain itself without the Sun, but considering the technological advancement that allows shooting bullets at speeds above light (it should take roughly 8-9 minutes for light to travel from Earth to Sun), I wouldn't worry about that.

(it still lacks a bit of polish, though, especially with possibility of shooting at the beginning)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Although very simple, it was fun to play!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Hi there. Great tech. demo, good job learning the lib.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

Interesting idea, pretty cool gameplay. A nice little game.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I saved the earth! Adding enemies should be the next step, avoiding one from winning the game just by leaving the fire button pressed. Very good effort to get this done while learning a new programming framework. Impressive!

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I like how the enemies multiply themselves, but in the end, it's pretty easy.

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:32am

Interesting concept!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice and relaxing entry.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Fun, but a little bit on the easy side. Maybe you could make the bullets you fire destroy yourself to make things a bit more interesting.

erdnuss says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Hold down left arrow and space to win :D (I fear I might have played that game the wrong way). The graphics and gameplay were nicely simple.

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Nice little game. I liked the mood. But it's way too easy (just hold space and an arrow key to finish it).

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:57am

Fun, but a little buggy, the first few times I tried to play it kept telling my the earth was destroyed after I had cleared the first level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]