Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Above and Below

by zakchaos - Jam Entry

Above and below is a game of two connected worlds, Above and Below the surface.
Do you hate fish?
Throw tons of toxic waste into the ocean!
Do you hate Toxic Waste?
Be A fish, and return toxic waste to the surface!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

The fish controls like a sack of potatoes and the bar at the top could really use a higher contrast. Sorry that I can't say anything positive about the game, I don't want to bash, I'm just being honest.

zakchaos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Thats great! I encourage all feedback really, I agree it does need a greater contrast, that is excellent insight, thanks for the comment!

Polyducks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I enjoyed the concept behind the game, but I felt that the controls were lacking in responsiveness. At one point I managed to make the guy glitch out over the water!

I was not able to make any of the barrels float. Just as I emitted a bubble, I would get crushed by a drum.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Actually you can survive too easily in the fish part but it's too hard to get ToxicWaste with the Bubbles, and the human part is easy but you can die more easily (there is also some collision bug).
The game could be more interesting if there was the two characters on the same screen and you could switch from one to an other, or even that the action in one game had action in the other game.
For the rest it's an html game, it's different from usual and it gives you all my admiration (i use Unity ;), i'm a coward)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:35pm

interesting concept, that hit sound should be lower, it really popped my ears X|

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Hi there. I get that you're making a point with this game, that said the controls don't allow you to control your fate sufficiently. Fish and men don't get enough warning of the barrels, the controls and bubble production aren't quick enough. Good starting point.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:17pm

A bit glitchy, but well done. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Fun and simple game. The controls and speed of bubbles might need some works but still was fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]