Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

1000 mph - The Breach

by NostraDamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COME AND PLAY ON GAMEJOLT TO COMPETE ON THE LEADERBOARDS!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Never go beyond 1000 mph, who knows what can happen...

XBOX 360 CONTROLLER RECOMMENDED!

Controls:
Pad - Joystick + Bumpers
Keyboard - WASD/Arrows + Mouse Buttons (R to Restart)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#75Audio3.70
#156Graphics3.84
#184Fun3.54
#256Overall3.52
#296Mood3.30
#743Humor2.07
#945Innovation2.60
#1045Theme2.36

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:29am

Very fun, enjoyable game

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:14am

Great fun, love the visuals!
Plays fine on mouse and keyboard.
Really nice work :3

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:39am

Funny. Beatiful graphics and sound.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Beautiful :), Five Stars

CyberNinja says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Great Idea!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Cool game, but my friend you don't respect the rules. Who share a 48 Hour Compo Entry MUST share the source too. Your game is really cool and polished. Bravo ++

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Thanks guys.
I know about the source, I'm just taking some time to polish stuff, the Compo is not over yet ;)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

The graphics looks AMAZING! :) Keep it up! Nice visuals.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55am

Awesome, I enjoyed myself

Recon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22am

Awesome graphics! Keep up the good work!

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26am

Simple and addictive game.
Good Sounds and visual. Especially I like stage 2 and 4.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42am

EPIC Soundtrack! Plays awesome with a controller!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27am

Hey. Tough to dodge all that rock. Enjoyable, if fairly dense, landscape generation. Love the music too.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Nice game reminded me of star fox, good gameplay.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Cool game !

TravisChen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

YES. AMAZING.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

Pretty cool. Was impossible to dodge some obstacles, especially in the later levels. Nice music in level 1.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Cool game! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19am

Wanna compete on the leaderboards for fastest time? http://bit.ly/1q0h076

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

A fun flying game. Unfortunately, it was too hard for me once I got to the orange level. But besides the lack of barrel rolls, good game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50am

Really fun and nice looking game. But I find the lack of barrel roll disturbing...

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55am

Cool game, remind me a lot of star fox! Beautiful graphics but I would like to see more theme usage here.

I found that is much easier to fly in vertical form at all time.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

Very nice reference to StarFox ! We had a strange sensation when leveling up, because there is a lack of speed-up and reward sensation.

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59am

Really awesome, I was looking for a game like this! Lots of content for only 48 hours! I have a lot of trouble getting to going fast at all though, it seems the hit boxes are a bit bigger than the objects themselves and it's hard to get around some of them. Love the music though, it adds a lot of flair to it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06am

Reminded me of Star Fox! The only thing I missed was being able to do a barrel roll... Excellent music and graphics.

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

Finished! This is so addictive. Very enjoyable.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

I spent a lot of time playing this game. It's simple but addictive.

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30am

Spent about 20 minutes to beat the last level. The vertical lines were way to hard to dodge most of the time. Then I read the instructions and saw that you can use the mouse buttons to go sideways... lol. Basically I'm stupid, but your game was still really fun anyways! The graphics were wonderful and I especially liked the way you based the lighting off distance on the last level.

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

Ahah @buckslice, the fact that you reached level 4 without going sideways is blowing my mind. But yeah, an in-game tutorial might be a better solution...

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45am

Hoh, really cool

rjhunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:57am

The game didn't really work on my machine (low-end Mac). I heard the (cool) music, and some of the terrain, but movement was wonky and slow. I think I need a better computer to play these fancy modern games!

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I suck at this game

DrMelon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Awesome! Reminded me a lot of starfox. Great entry!

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

My ship was stuck sideways as default. Is that how it's supposed to be? It was pretty fun regardless.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I played with a xbox controller. Difficulty curve could be improved because the first level already feels frustrating at times. And the second one feels like its two times harder than the first one.
I digg the low poly style tho very much and the music.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

It's nice, but it related to the theme?

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice and fast paced - I really enjoyed it. I liked how it was about reaching high speeds, rather than dying if you hit something.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

That was intense! Am I a real pilot now?

pythong says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:20am

great sound! congratulations 7:26, but I guess I could do better ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]