Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Horse With Two Names

by pjchardt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THIS GAME REQUIRES UNITY TO PLAY. I KNOW THIS SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCES THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE WILLING TO PLAY. SORRY :( PLEASE READ ON TO SEE WHY YOU NEED UNITY. I FIGURE WITH SO MANY GAMES FOR LD ONE GAME WITH A REALLY HIGH BARRIER OF ENTRY IS NOT SO BAD.

A Horse with Two Names is a game about using the code and assets that create the game being utilized in a second way as the content to use to solve the riddles of the game. This game stems from my interest in the artifacts of game creation, a fancy terminology for code, assets and the other ingredients that are necessary for a game experience. What happens to these artifacts? And what are the aesthetic qualities of these artifacts?

I built the game in Unity, unfortunately as a result Unity is needed to play the game, as some clues are found in the source code but others require investigating the Scene of the game in the Unity Editor. Were I a more experienced programmer, and probably requiring more time as well, I would much prefer to use a far more lightweight engine or write a very simple engine for the game. As it is now, the game has a 4GB barrier to entry :( Hopefully some devs who already use Unity will find the premise of AHWTN interesting enough to play, and I thank you and hope you can take something positive from the experience.

To play simply run the executable. The game will prompt for numerical codes to be input to solve each riddle. The answers to each riddle are found in the code and the scene. You will need to open the project in Unity.

In the repo are all of the source files as well as the builds for Windows, Mac and Linux.

Sincerely,

@pjchardt

PS This info can also be found in the readme file of the repo.

Because this game has such a high barrier to play, I will be making a video soon to show the game being played.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#97Innovation3.89
#337Humor2.71
#534Mood3.00
#647Audio2.55
#697Overall3.07
#715Graphics2.87
#739Fun2.84
#925Theme2.64

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Too shame for the size :/

pjchardt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

I am uploading a video right now to youtube with a walkthrough of the game. Hopefully people who do not have Unity can check out the video.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53am

This is a really awesome concept. And those are really clever riddles. Awesome job!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

The idea is a real interesting one, unfortunately I don't have Unity.

Still, Unity beats Java hands down!

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41am

Very interesting experience. I actually just downloaded Unity for the first time last week and I learned a lot about the editor from "playing" this game. Highly amusing.

I will say: If you have Unity, actually play this. Try the riddles without watching the video. It's quite fun.

The last one was the only one I had to "cheat" a bit to figure out (but I didn't watch the video until after). I can let you know how through direct message if you want. (@jhnsnc on Twitter)

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

hahah what a crazy idea XD I watched the video and I think I would never solve these puzzles :( I really like how creative the gamedevs here are :)

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very novel concept, +1.

Cireon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Very interesting to consider the code of the game as part of the game. This does however limit the game a lot to a certain audience, and I had to look at the video tutorial, because I would not have solved the things otherwise.

So in short: very interesting concept, though I think it needs a lot more design to become a more solid game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]