Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

System Divergents

by Brassawiking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Since people seem confused on what to do, the game is Rock-Paper-Scissors with a some twists. Aim beats cover, suppressive beats aim, cover beats suppresive.

There is an unusual hacking activity within the city. Follow the leads and bring the responsible to justice.

*** Sales pitch ***
* Four progressing levels
* Handmade graphics
* Rather delightful sound design
* Simple to learn, hard to master
* A complete game
******

I've made it through. Lost a day due to a new framework, so the content and gameplay got slimed done compared what I was aiming for. But in the end, I feel very pleased with the result. So enjoy my grand evolution of rock, paper, scissor =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Graphics4.05
#213Audio3.32
#385Mood3.19
#827Innovation2.80
#1066Overall2.59
#1192Theme1.58
#1192Fun1.81
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Liz England says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

Your graphics are great. I love the way you used hand-painted graphics and a choice menu to simulate cover shooter mechanics. I think it'd need a lot of work to get fun (lack of feedback mean I didn't know whether I was successful or not) BUT your idea is really golden.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

Nice graphics and oppressive mood. Well done ++

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Liked the art, mood and the map, but the gameplay wasn't that clear, didnt figure out when it was good idea to aim, dodge or suppressive fire. Got through just repeating aimed shot at everything, seemed to work better than trying the other options at random. There is potential on the story and style, but the core gamemechanic would need more feedback to get fun.
Good job :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:53am

Well done :) Nice graphic

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:29am

I didn't get it if i touch the enemy or not ...

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:43am

The enemy behavior feels totaly random, so I am not sure there is something meaningfull I could do here. Also I wasn't able to tell if I got hit or if I was hitting the enemy

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:50am

The game is basically rock paper scissors. Aim beats cover, suppressive beats aim, and cover beats suppressive. There is some twists to it, but that is how you go about the game.

Shide says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:53am

A good idea to use a hand-painted art, but I don't see how does it relate to the theme

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:57am

Loved the audio and the hand drawn graphics. On the other hand I couldn't really tell whether I hit the enemy or not, so the whole thing felt a bit disconnected.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I tried to respond based on the rps answer but that didn't seem to work out.

The music and ui menu rollover sfx were great as well as the art of course.

Decent mood from the artwork and the audio.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Hi there. Lovely visuals and sound, great Mood. Didn't really like the game itself though, couldn't get into it as no immediate feedback about success of choices.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03pm

very interesting

Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:29am

It is mostly graphical game to me. I didn't see much gameplay, but congratulations for the artist :)

01101101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Your music (shoot sound apart)and the graphics are really nice. But as Liz England said, we don't really know if we win or not. nevermind, well done!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Graphics and mood are cool ! The gameplay is very confusing, you don't know what's going on and mouse controls are not so reactive !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]