Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

PLANETOID

by Kortuga - Jam Entry

Here's a 'full' playthrough/tutorial of the game for the lazy or frustrated: http://youtu.be/G6oONPvT7u0

!!WARNING 1!!
IF YOU WANT TO DOWNLOAD THE GAME, PLEASE BE AWARE THAT IT IS 10MB IN SIZE AND THAT IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THAT YOU PLAY AT A 4:3 ASPECT RATIO

!!WARNING 2!!
PLEASE READ THE INGAME INSTRUCTIONS THOROUGHLY.

!!WARNING 3!!
PROTIP: THE BLACK HOLE IS ALWAYS LOCATED AT 0,0 IN WORLD COORDINATES!

Hey everybody.

N427 and I worked on this game, completed it in around 30 hours, and here it is: PLANETOID. It's a game about literally connecting worlds with trading routes and fuel-mining facilities to bolster your interstellar development.

FAQ:

Q: How do I-
A: READ THE INGAME INSTRUCTIONS IN FULL, PLEASE!

Story:
This galaxy has long been rumored to contain a legendary Black Hole - a vault containing innumerable wealth and undeniable fame for whoever may unlock its secrets. The Black Hole is fabled to have been sealed long ago by ancient beings who sought to destroy its power, using a host of archaic objects known as the Artifacts. You must find the Artifacts to open the Black Hole. Claim your glory!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#66Theme(Jam)3.85
#92Audio(Jam)3.74
#180Overall(Jam)3.52
#219Graphics(Jam)3.79
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#378Fun(Jam)3.04
#390Humor(Jam)2.40

Comments

Cody Ward says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46am

I really like the UI art!

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Liked it! Kept running out of fuel, though. I was burning planets left and right and didn't seem to be replenishing my fuel supply...

Sestren says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24am

I accidentally made too much money and overflowed the integer, winding up with a negative amount of money and unable to spend it. I had 12 or 13 of the artifacts (I think), but couldn't find the black hole. Neat game. I like the style and the music.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

The music and graphics are fantastic. You should make a button to pop up the in-game instructions. Make one of the keyboard keys toggle it or something like that.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33am

Lol, discovered planet 'Pornokik'.
Definitely the most polished-looking game I've encountered so far. Audio and visual were superb.
There needs to be a way to go back to the main menu once you start playing; I read the controls, started playing, and then realized I needed to reference the controls again. I just refreshed the page, but would be nice to have some other way get to the controls.

So, I really enjoyed, it, and played for a while.
Was never able to find the Black Hole, though; found plenty of artifacts, but not black hole.
Also, uncertain about mechanics: If a planet has a colony, but no reactors, does it still create fuel?

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

That shade of green is the most satisfying green I've ever seen.
Thank you for showing me this green.

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

I really like the look and feel. I found myself wanting to complete the game to see what happens.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

@Miziziziz No, they do not. Check the video tutorial/playthrough if you like!

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Good game with nice graphics and audio... BTW Check Out My Game

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

Where can I find the video playthrough?
btw, I tried playing through again; did a lot better resource-wise this time, but was only able to find 2 artifacts strangely.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

Love the art! Not my type of game but it's well done. Had to restart the game once tho to read the instructions again, its alot to take in at once.

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Strong game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Nice sound and general style

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Fantastic art and music. I couldn't quite get the before watching the video, despite reading the instructions throughly, but that could just be my lack of reading comprehension.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Epic pixel art style!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:42pm

pretty cool game. I always run out of fuel though^^.
Great music!

arzi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Took me a while to figure out the how to play (even though I read the instructions!), but it was worth a little learning. It's a really nice little game.

It would be nice to see which planets have reactors, though.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Hi there. Like the pixel graphics and spacey chiptunes. The UI seems to work, can link up planets and configure the economic things... but... nothing much happened after that, connected about 30 planets... Went left as far as I could then right after that (starting again from Earth) and ended up at Eggymel! Good job as far as it goes!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:22am

Neat game, though I couldn't deselect the UI panels. Great mechanics and take on the theme. Cool graphics and audio, setting a quite particular mood. Good work!

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:53pm

The music is hauntingly beautiful! Although the gameplay is confusing at first, I find it really engaging and fun :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:51am

I loved the art and music in this game. The video helped me understand the game, and it's fun to explore. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]