Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Glowing Balls

by Hemuuuli - Jam Entry

Hints:

Take your time and be careful.

Spamming attacks won't do any good, if you miss take a step back and let your stamina refill.

Your goal is to get three glowing orbs onto a orb holder in the central room.

Team:
Samuli Jaaskelainen @Zhamul - Design, Programming, Environment art
Sofi Kurtti - Enemy Art
Janne Joensuu - Weapon Art
Vili Viitaniemi - Audio @Wilppe
Tia Kiesilainen - Additional Programming
Kriina Rytkonen - Additional Concept Art
Miikka Lehtonen - Additional Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Mood(Jam)4.26
#16Graphics(Jam)4.59
#16Audio(Jam)4.22
#35Overall(Jam)4.00
#71Fun(Jam)3.69
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#475Humor(Jam)2.17
#602Theme(Jam)2.56
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great job! It seems like you guys were pretty ambitious and it paid off!

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Got killed by spiders. Would play again.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32pm

The game is amazingly polished for 72 hours. I especially liked the more slow paced combat system.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This is an amazing entry! One of my favorites

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Wow this is fantastic. Great job on pretty much everything!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

The only thing i can say is: The bigger the team the bigger the game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38pm

It's fun, good mechanical and very good graphics, the combat is quite difficult and even the atmosphere is terrifying

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Fantastic atmosphere! The combat seems a little too tricky, but I guess it probably just takes a while to get used to. The audio and graphics are the best part, they really help to create a really good mood.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Moooood! Mood is awesome!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

A very impressive quantity and quality of content for a 3 day game. I got lost a lot though and really didn't care for the combat, since even the spiders take like five hits (or roughly a minute).

Then I discovered that you can just walk slowly around enemies, and finished the game with 100% health and six enemies trailing me. Sort of a game breaker, but I'm super glad I didn't have to spend ten minutes slowly whacking and backing away. Also I don't really see how the theme applies.

Low marks for fun, super high marks for content.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Ok, spider from back really scared me. Great atmosphere, good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Very solid Jam Entry, nice, almost "Oblivion" visuals. You, people, must publish it on Steam or Desura, no jokes. It's awesome game, mood deserve more than 5 stars.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Awesome game. Looks like Skyrim killer). I downloaded game to play again later. Great Job!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Impressive! There were many areas of polish that I'd never expect from a jam game! Those creatures spooked me haha.

damrem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Wow how difficult! And immersive!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Hi. unfortunately crashes if you press TAB for VR then TAB again. Not rated. "Fatal content error has been detected" displayed by Unity container after about 10 seconds.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]