Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Souls

by lekochen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game about two souls.

This is my first time using PuzzleScript. It took me about 2 hours to learn and another 4-5 hours to make the game. I strongly recommend trying PuzzleScript. This tool is amazing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#352Overall3.41
#357Fun3.27
#381Innovation3.39
#444Theme3.40
#457Humor2.48
#523Mood3.03
#755Audio2.30
#771Graphics2.77

Comments

Draknek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

This is a fun way of combining different mechanics.

Probably worth putting a message to say that you can switch the characters around: I didn't immediately realise that was something I could do.

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

I liked it, especially the together puzzles.

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

Nicely done. Loving the graphics too :)

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04am

Very interesting to play, good work!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

Interesting game, especially for the Her section. Though I found it fiendishly difficult! I just couldn't visualize or understand the patterns needed. Well, I must be getting old. Fun stuff. :)

Twittle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

This the favorite game I have played today

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

This is very impressive for such a short amount of time. The pulling mechanic is quite an unusual (to me) twist on Sokoban, and actually very difficult to think about!

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27am

Nice puzzle!
But I am stuck in girl's part(2) for a long time.
It's not easy as I thought.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Oh man this is great! Once Her story began I really got into it. Great work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice! Is it just me or does everybody has the same compulsive reaction and try to rearrange the people in the last scene? :P

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35am

Nice! Was a bit disappointed by His levels (though they did make me think) until I got to Her levels and realized what it was setting me up for. Great work. (And I seem to be really great at making block nests for Her.)

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24am

Cool game, its hard :D I like it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:33am

Never saw thet twist on soko-ban before, it is absolutely great, very fun to play, especially the her part had me thinking very hard, well done :)

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:33am

Very cool concept. Red was way harder for me than blue! I think some music would have been a good addition, but overall it was pretty fun.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice use of Puzzlescript.

I was a bit unsettled by "her story" at start, but after a few tries, it was OK.
It also took me sometime to understand that X switch position in "their story" but nothing dramatic.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

nice game - added to my play again list - great job.

juakob says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

I really like her story, nice work!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Sokoban.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:36am

Great, I'm always looking for good Puzzlescript games on LD. Loved it, some really good head-scratchers in this game. Good job :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11am

So clever, really nice take on the Sokoban genre. I'm usually not a big fan but I must say it's a great game and I had fun playing it :D

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Nice and simple Sokoban-like puzzle game. Good use of puzzleScript.

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:38am

it looks like puzzlescript develops creativity...
Two characters with two differents rules is a good idea.
we would have more levels to see if it works for a long time...

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:58am

For some reason I took me a while to understant how I could move crates around with her. I had to look in the source for that (and the tools seems indeed dead simple to use. I didn't know it)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Hi there. Interesting puzzle game. Found the puzzles quite tricky, got to #4. Made we want to finally look into how puzzlescript works and can be used. Good job!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Alright, "Her Story" indeed is when things start getting interesting, though also a bit confusing (and yes, you could have mentioned that X button switches characters). Overall pretty cute game; maybe it could use some music, though. ^^"

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:41pm

YOU MADE THIS GAME IN 7 HOURS?! I am really jealous and feel compelled to try this puzzlescript, though I am now getting used to Unity. Great level progression, from puzzle number 3 I had to make an effort to solve them and then "her" mechanic made me feel ecstatic again. Great job!!

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Excellent game for such a short amount of time. Doesn't make me want to go out and learn PuzzleScript, but you did a great job with it. Would have liked some audio. And I don't know if I would have figured it out , but I read through the comments first. Even though, the puzzles did stretch my brain a bit.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:10pm

The combined puzzles... very tricky. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]